Are you considering homeschooling your child? You can do it! As you get started, it’s important to make sure you comply with the education laws where you live. This page helps you understand how to homeschool legally—step by step.

Compulsory school attendance age

Beginning when your child turns 7, you must start complying with Maine’s compulsory school law for that child.

Once your child reaches his or her 17th birthday, he or she is no longer required to obey the school laws. Additionally, there are three ways your child can be excused from following the school laws before turning 17: he or she can graduate from high school, attend an accredited college full-time with the approval of the Commissioner of Education, or, after turning 15, his or her parents and the local school board may agree to release him or her from further school attendance.

Withdrawing your child from his or her current school

If you want to start homeschooling during the school year and your child is currently enrolled in a public or private school, HSLDA recommends that you formally withdraw your child from that school. If you are going to start homeschooling after the school year is over, and your child is considered enrolled for the following year, we recommend that you withdraw your child before the next school year begins, so that the school does not mark your child as absent or truant.

We invite you to become a member of HSLDA to receive specific advice about withdrawing your child from school and starting to homeschool. Local schools may have specific forms or withdrawal procedures. HSLDA members are eligible to receive individualized advice about whether complying with those procedures is advisable or required. HSLDA members are also eligible to use the sample letter of withdrawal for their state, available in Member Resources, to correspond with school officials.

We generally recommend that any correspondence with authorities be sent “Certified Mail—Return Receipt Requested.” Keep copies of the withdrawal letter and any other paperwork or correspondence, and any green postal receipts, for your personal records.

Note: If your child has never attended a public or private school, this section does not apply.

Complying with your state’s homeschool law

Maine has two options you can use to homeschool your children: home instruction and private schooling.

Homeschooling under Maine’s home instruction option:

If you choose to provide your child with home instruction, you’ll need to follow these requirements:

You must send a one-time written notice to your local school superintendent and to the state commissioner of education. This notice needs to be sent within 10 days of you starting to homeschool your student.

Your notice must include the following information:

  • name, address, and signature of the parent or guardian,
  • student’s name and age
  • the date that home instruction began (or will begin),
  • a statement that you will provide instruction to your student for at least 175 days a year,
  • a statement that you will cover the required subjects, and
  • a statement that you will submit a year-end assessment for your student.

Maine law says that you must keep a copy of this notice for your records. If the commissioner of education asks to see the notice, you must provide it to him or her.

Each year thereafter, by September 1, you need to send a letter to the local school superintendent and to the state commissioner of education.

This letter needs to include the following:

  • your student’s year-end assessment, and
  • a statement that you intend to continue your student’s home education.

Maine law says that you must keep a copy of each annual letter, and a copy of each year-end assessment, for your records. If the commissioner of education asks to see the letter or the year-end assessment, you must provide it.

You must all of the following subjects:

  • English and language arts,
  • math,
  • science,
  • social studies,
  • physical and health education,
  • library skills,
  • fine arts,
  • Maine studies (in one grade between grades 6 and 12), and
  • computer proficiency (in one grade between grades 7 and 12).

For your child’s year-end assessment, you can:

  • Submit the official results of a national standardized achievement test.
  • Submit the results of a test developed by local school officials (homeschoolers do not commonly use this type of assessment).
  • Submit a letter stating that your child’s progress has been reviewed and is acceptable. This letter can be from a Maine certified teacher, a support group that has a Maine certified teacher helping to conduct your child’s review, or an advisory board that includes two homeschool teachers and one school official and that you arrange with your school district before the school year begins. The advisory board option is not commonly used.

Keep a copy of the assessment you submit for your records.

Homeschooling as a private school:

Maine law allows homeschooling parents to join together and function as a “recognized” private school.  The requirements a private school must follow to be “recognized” are listed in HSLDA’s analysis of Maine state law. You can satisfy Maine’s school attendance laws by enrolling your child in one of these schools.

If you choose to homeschool as a private school, you must teach all of the following subjects:

  • English (reading, writing, spelling, and grammar),
  • math,
  • science,
  • American history,
  • Maine history and geography,
  • government (including the privilege and responsibility of citizenship),
  • health education, and
  • fine arts.


If your state has any specific recordkeeping requirements, they are listed above. Regardless of your state’s recordkeeping requirements, HSLDA recommends that you keep detailed records of your homeschool program. These records may be helpful if you face an investigation regarding your homeschooling or your student needs to furnish proof of education.

These records should include attendance records, information on the textbooks and workbooks your student used, samples of your student’s schoolwork, correspondence with school officials, portfolios and test results, and any other documents showing that your child is receiving an appropriate education in compliance with the law. You should maintain these records for at least two years. You should keep your student’s high school records and proof of compliance with the home education laws during the high school years (including any type of home education notice that you file with state or local officials) on file forever. HSLDA’s high school webpage has additional information about homeschool recordkeeping.

Home School Legal Defense Association is a national advocacy organization that supports the right of parents to educate their children at home. We are dedicated to protecting the legality of your homeschool while equipping you to successfully teach your children.

HSLDA members have 24/7 phone and email access to our staff of attorneys and legal assistants, who can help you understand the homeschool law in your state and will go to bat for you if a school official or other authority challenges your homeschool. Our 80,000 members—families like you!— also receive personalized advice on everything from homeschooling a high schooler to teaching a child with special needs from our team of education consultants.

Please note: The information on this page has been reviewed by an attorney, but it should not be taken as legal advice specific to your individual situation.

Last updated July 14, 2015