HOME | LAWS | ORGANIZATIONS | CASES | LEGISLATION | COMMON CORE | LEYES EN ESPAÑOL
Compulsory Attendance Age Adjusted
On February 20, 2009, the Arkansas General Assembly enacted Senate Bill 295, making a minor change in the compulsory attendance law. Prior law required school attendance for a child 5 years of age through 17 years of age on or before September 15 of that year. The new law deletes the September 15 date and replaces it with the date established in Arkansas law for the minimum age for enrolment in public school. For the 2009–2010 school year, the date is September 1, 2009. For the 2010–2011 school year, the date is August 15, 2010. For the 2011–2012 school year and afterwards, the date is August 1 of the year.
Parents of 5-year-olds may elect for the child not to attend kindergarten if the child will not be 6 years of age on the date established for the minimum age for enrollment in public school as described above. If the election is made, the parent must file a signed kindergarten waiver form with the local school district.