Originally Sent: 4/22/2014

From the HSLDA e-lert service…
Home School Legal Defense Association

Donate to HSLDA
To support HSLDA’s litigation, education and lobbying efforts, click here. Contributions or gifts to HSLDA are not tax deductible. To make a tax-deductible gift to the Homeschool Freedom Fund, which will fund litigation and education of the public, click here.  For more information about these two opportunities to support the work of HSLDA see the FAQ here.

Join 20,000 others...

The HSLDA Curriculum Market is buzzing with activity! Save money on new and used homeschooling materials, or sell your extras.

You Can Help!

The Home School Foundation supports homeschool families in need. Whether it's a widow or a family suffering after a natural disaster, HSF is there to help. You can give directly, or through our Clicks For Homeschooling program; online merchants contribute to HSF when you shop!

Start shopping here to contribute to HSF at no cost to you!
   

Act Now to Defeat Dangerous Legislation

Homeschooling in Colorado.

Please call senators today.



HSLDA staff attorney Mike Donnelly helps protect homeschool freedom in your community.
Read more >>

Dear Colorado Members and Friends,

House Bill (HB) 1288, which changes the state’s immunization personal exemption requirements and passed a committee vote has now passed a second reading on the Senate floor and appears to be poised to pass unless you take action now. Although the bill has been amended to remove the requirement that parents “certify” that they are informed about immunizations before being able to claim a personal exemption, a conference committee could add this language back in easily. We are asking you to take action so that the bill does NOT pass the Senate.

The bill passed its second reading on a straight party line vote with every Democrat voting in favor of HB 1288. We are asking you to take immediate action to contact Democrat senators and tell them to vote no on this bill.

Action Requested

Please contact Democrat senators—especially if you are their constituent—and give them the following messages in your own words:

“I am calling to oppose House Bill 1288. Even as amended the bill presents a threat to families and children. Although the requirement that parents certify to knowledge before obtaining a personal belief exemption to immunization has been removed, this language could be reinserted in a conference committee. The bill’s remaining language regarding reporting is both redundant and dangerously vague—it threatens the privacy of children’s medical information. This bill should not pass the Senate. Please vote against HB 1288.”

You can contact the Democrat state senators using the following contact information:

Senator Irene Aguilar
303-866-4852
irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us

Senator Morgan Carroll
303-866-4879
morgan.carroll.senate@state.co.us

Senator Lucia Guzman
303-866-4861
lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us

Senator Rollie Heath
303-866-4872
rollie.heath.senate@state.co.us

Senator Mary Hodge
303-866-4855
mary.hodge.senate@state.co.us

Senator Cheri Jahn
303-866-4856
cheri.jahn.senate@state.co.us

Senator Matt Jones
303-866-5291
senatormattjones@gmail.com

Senator Mike Johnston
303-866-4864
mike.johnston.senate@state.co.us

Senator John Kefalas
303-866-4841
john.kefalas.senate@state.co.us

Senator Andy Kerr
303-866-4879
SenatorAndyKerr@gmail.com

Senator Linda Newell
303-866-4846
linda.newell.senate@state.co.us

Senator Jeanne Nicholson
303-866-4873
jeanne.nicholson.senate@state.co.us

Senator Gail Schwartz
303-866-4871
gail.schwartz.senate@state.co.us

Senator Pat Steadman
303-866-4861
pat.steadman.senate@state.co.us

Senator Lois Tochtrop
303-866-4863
lotochtrop@aol.com

Senator Nancy Todd
303-866-3432
nancy.todd.senate@state.co.us

Senator Jessie Ulibarri
303-866-4857
senator.ulibarri@gmail.com

Senator Rachel Zenzinger
303-866-4840
SenatorRachelZ@gmail.com

Thank you for all you do in defense of freedom for families in the great state of Colorado!

Very truly yours,

/signature/

Michael P. Donnelly, Esq.
HSLDA Staff Attorney

P.S. We greatly value you and your support—it is a privilege to serve you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you consider taking a moment today to join or recommend us? Your support for our work enables us to defend individual families threatened by government officials and protect homeschooling freedom for all. Join now >>


The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association • P.O. Box 3000 • Purcellville, Virginia 20134-9000
Phone: (540) 338-5600 • Fax: (540) 338-2733 • Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

Subscription Information: You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:
##ToAddress##

Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Change Settings

POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.

DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers. HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded, or sent by any party other than HSLDA.

NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address; hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also email staff directly through the Members website at http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.

© 2014 HSLDA. All rights reserved.