Originally Sent: 2/21/2014

From the HSLDA e-lert service…
Home School Legal Defense Association

Donate to HSLDA
To support HSLDA’s litigation, education and lobbying efforts, click here. Contributions or gifts to HSLDA are not tax deductible. To make a tax-deductible gift to the Homeschool Freedom Fund, which will fund litigation and education of the public, click here.  For more information about these two opportunities to support the work of HSLDA see the FAQ here.

Join 20,000 others...

The HSLDA Curriculum Market is buzzing with activity! Save money on new and used homeschooling materials, or sell your extras.

You Can Help!

The Home School Foundation supports homeschool families in need. Whether it's a widow or a family suffering after a natural disaster, HSF is there to help. You can give directly, or through our Clicks For Homeschooling program; online merchants contribute to HSF when you shop!

Start shopping here to contribute to HSF at no cost to you!
   

Please Act to Protect New Homeschool Options

Homeschooling in Kansas

Don’t turn back the clock on freedom!



Senior Counsel Scott Woodruff answers questions and assists members with legal issues in your state. He and his wife homeschooled their children.
Read more >>

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends in Iowa:

On February 18, a bill was filed in the Iowa Legislature that would repeal all of last year’s improvements to Iowa’s homeschool law. The new homeschool options would disappear.

If you agree that the new homeschool options deserve to stay, please act today! Help us send a strong message to the lawmakers who have signed as co-sponsors of the bill, House File 2308, that Iowa will not turn the clock back on freedom.

Action Requested

Please send an email to each of the lawmakers below asking them to withdraw their support for HF 2308. If one of them is your own representative, make sure you mention that up front in your email. Use this link to find out who your representative is.

Your message can be as simple as: “Please withdraw your support for HF 2308. Last year’s changes to the Iowa homeschool law cut away useless red tape. HF 2308 would put all that red tape back in place. And red tape doesn’t help the kids. In states with little or no red tape, homeschool students fare just as well academically as in states with moderate or heavy red tape. Nationally, the average homeschooled 8th grader scores at the level of a 12th grader. Please do not line up with those who want to hurt freedom but protect red tape.”

Contact Information—Sponsors of HF 2308

1. Ako Abdul-Samad (D-Des Moines)
House District 35
ako.abdul-samad@legis.iowa.gov

2. Marti Anderson (D-Des Moines)
House District 36
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov

3. Vicki S. Lensing (D-Iowa City)
House District 85
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov

4. Jerry A. Kearns (D-Keokuk)
House District 83
jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov

5. Phyllis Thede (D-Bettendorf)
House District 93
phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov

6. Bruce Bearinger (D-Oelwein)
House District 64
bruce.bearinger@legis.iowa.gov

7. Patrick Murphy (D-Dubuque)
House District 99
patrick.murphy@legis.iowa.gov

8. Sharon S. Steckman (D-Mason City)
House District 53
sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov

9. Patti Ruff (D-McGregor)
House District 56
patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov

10. Chris Hall (D-Sioux City)
House District 13
chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov

11. Dave Dawson (D-Sioux City)
House District 14
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov

12. Cindy Winckler (D-Davenport)
House District 90
cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov

13. Bruce L. Hunter (D-Des Moines)
House District 34
bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov

14. Mary Mascher (D-Iowa City)
House District 86
mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov

15. Curt Hanson (D-Fairfield)
House District 82
curt.hanson@legis.iowa.gov

16. Dennis M. Cohoon (D-Burlington)
House District 87)
dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov

17. Ruth Ann Gaines (D-Des Moines)
House District 32
ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov

18. Frank Wood (D-Eldridge)
House District 92
frank.wood@legis.iowa.gov

Background

Last year brought a major overhaul to Iowa’s obsolete homeschool law. Two new homeschool options were established: Independent Private Instruction, and private instruction without filing Form A. These two new options fit squarely within the national trend of simplifying homeschool laws and doing away with red tape.

Last year also witnessed a breakthrough for parent-taught driver education. These changes were enacted with bipartisan support.

Because of the changes, Iowa homeschool families—just like families in Illinois, Missouri, and Kansas—now have the option of homeschooling without sending a list of their children to government officials or submitting year-end assessments.

The Network of Iowa Christian Home Educators and HSLDA are united in opposing HF 2308.

Thank you for standing with us for freedom!

Sincerely Yours,

Scott A. Woodruff
HSLDA Senior Counsel

P.S. We greatly value you and your support—it is a privilege to serve you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you consider taking a moment today to join or recommend us? Your support enables us to defend individual families threatened by government officials and protect homeschooling freedom for all. Join now >>


The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association • P.O. Box 3000 • Purcellville, Virginia 20134-9000
Phone: (540) 338-5600 • Fax: (540) 338-2733 • Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

Subscription Information: You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:
##ToAddress##

Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Change Settings

POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.

DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers. HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded, or sent by any party other than HSLDA.

NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address; hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also email staff directly through the Members website at http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.

© 2014 HSLDA. All rights reserved.