Originally Sent: 1/28/2014

From the HSLDA e-lert service…
Home School Legal Defense Association

Donate to HSLDA
To support HSLDA’s litigation, education and lobbying efforts, click here. Contributions or gifts to HSLDA are not tax deductible. To make a tax-deductible gift to the Homeschool Freedom Fund, which will fund litigation and education of the public, click here.  For more information about these two opportunities to support the work of HSLDA see the FAQ here.

Join 20,000 others...

The HSLDA Curriculum Market is buzzing with activity! Save money on new and used homeschooling materials, or sell your extras.

You Can Help!

The Home School Foundation supports homeschool families in need. Whether it's a widow or a family suffering after a natural disaster, HSF is there to help. You can give directly, or through our Clicks For Homeschooling program; online merchants contribute to HSF when you shop!

Start shopping here to contribute to HSF at no cost to you!
   

Calls Needed to Oppose Compulsory Attendance Age Bills

Homeschooling in Mississippi

Call or email today.



Senior Counsel Dee Black answers questions and assists members with legal issues. He and his wife homeschooled their children.
Read more >>

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

How would you like it if your homeschool had to be licensed by the State of Mississippi in order to be legal? Scary as that sounds, that appears to be the effect of four of seven bills that would lower Mississippi’s compulsory school attendance age from 6 to 5. House Bill 826 and Senate Bills 2352, 2815, and 2842 would not only lower the compulsory attendance age but could be interpreted to require that children of kindergarten age attend a “licensed” school. These bills define the term “school” for kindergarten-age children as “any licensed public, parochial, or nonpublic school kindergarten program which promotes services that address the cognitive, social and emotional needs of five-year-old children.” Home instruction programs in Mississippi are nonpublic schools. House Bills 723 and 1134 would lower the compulsory attendance age to 5 but would make enrollment of a 5-year-old child voluntary. Senate Bill 2349 would simply lower the compulsory attendance age to 5.

All of the House of Representatives bills are in the House Education Committee, while the Senate bills are pending consideration by the Senate Education Committee. Both committees could vote on their bills at any time. Members of these committees need to hear from hundreds of you in order to stop these bills that threaten your fundamental freedom to homeschool your children.

Action Requested

1. Please call and/or email members of the House Education Committee and the Senate Education Committee with this message or something similar in your own words:

For the House Education Committee:

“Please vote against House bills 723, 826, and 1134, which would lower Mississippi’s compulsory school attendance age from 6 to 5. House Bill 826 would also require that kindergarten-age children attend a state-licensed school. Such licensing would undermine the fundamental freedom of nonpublic education. Further, parents, not state officials, are best able to determine when their child is ready for formal education.”

For the Senate Education Committee:

“Please vote against Senate bills 2349, 2352, 2815, and 2842, which would lower Mississippi’s compulsory school attendance age from 6 to 5. All of these bills except Senate Bill 2349 would require that kindergarten-age children attend a state-licensed school. Such licensing would undermine the fundamental freedom of nonpublic education. Further, parents, not state officials, are best able to determine when their child is ready for formal education.”

The members of the House Education Committee are as follows:

John L. Moore, Chairman
(601) 359-3330
jmoore@house.ms.gov

Alyce G. Clarke, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-9465
aclarke@house.ms.gov

William Tracy Arnold
(601) 359-2438
warnold@house.ms.gov

Nick Bain
(601) 359-3338
nbain@house.ms.gov

Mark Baker
(601) 359-3388
mbaker@house.ms.gov

Toby Barker
(601) 359-3362
tbarker@house.ms.gov

Randy P. Boyd
(601) 359-2435
rboyd@house.ms.gov

Clara Burnett
(601) 359-2422
cburnett@house.ms.gov

Charles Busby
(601) 359-3373
cbusby@house.ms.gov

Credell Calhoun
(601) 359-2429
ccalhoun@house.ms.gov

Gary Chism
(601) 359-3364
gchism@house.ms.gov

Carolyn Crawford
(601) 359-2430
ccrawford@house.ms.gov

Becky Currie
(601) 359-5334
bcurrie@house.ms.gov

Dennis DeBar
(601) 359-2436
ddebar@house.ms.gov

Reecy L. Dickson
(601) 359-2433
rdickson@house.ms.gov

Chuck Espy
(601) 359-9391
cespy@house.ms.gov

James Evans
(601) 359-2461
jevans@house.ms.gov

Mark Formby
(601) 359-3359
mformby@house.ms.gov

Herb Frierson
(601) 359-3340

Jeffrey S. Guice
(601) 359-2508
jguice@house.ms.gov

Eugene Forrest Hamilton
(601) 359-4075
efhamilton@house.ms.gov

Gregory Holloway
(601) 359-2435
gholloway@house.ms.gov

Wanda Jennings
(601) 359-3327
wjennings@house.ms.gov

Rita Martinson
(601) 359-3131
rmartinson@house.ms.gov

Steve Massengill
(601) 359-3338
smassengill@house.ms.gov

Brad Mayo
(601) 359-2431
bmayo@house.ms.gov

Pat Nelson
(601) 359-3339
pnelson@house.ms.gov

Rufus Straughter
(601) 359-2421
rstraughter@house.ms.gov

Sara R. Thomas
(601) 359-2845
sthomas@house.ms.gov

Joseph L. Warren
(601) 359-3014
jwarren@house.ms.gov

Tom Weathersby
(601) 359-3336
tweathersby@house.ms.gov

The members of the Senate Education Committee are as follows:

Gray Tollison, Chairman
(601) 359-2395
gtollison@senate.ms.gov

Nancy Adams Collins, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-2395
ncollins@senate.ms.gov

David Blount
(601) 359-3232
dblount@senate.ms.gov

Terry C. Burton
(601) 359-3234
tburton@senate.ms.gov

Videt Carmichael
(601) 359-3244
vcarmichael@senate.ms.gov

Steve Hale
(601) 359-3252
shale@senate.ms.gov

Angela Burks Hill
(601) 359-2886
ahill@senate.ms.gov

W. Briggs Hopson III
(601) 359-3237
bhopson@senate.ms.gov

Russell Jolly
(601) 359-2886
rjolly@senate.ms.gov

David Jordan
(601) 359-3244
djordan@senate.ms.gov

Chris Massey
(601) 359-2886
cmassey@senate.ms.gov

John A. Polk
(601) 359-3246
jpolk@senate.ms.gov

Tony Smith
(601) 359-2886
tsmith@senate.ms.gov

Brice Wiggins
(601) 359-3232
bwiggins@senate.ms.gov

J. P. Wilemon, Jr.
(601) 359-3232
jwilemon@senate.ms.gov

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the committees about these bills.

Background

Many education experts have concluded that beginning a child’s formal education too early may actually result in burnout and poor scholastic performance later.

Lowering the compulsory attendance age erodes the authority of parents who are in the best position to determine when their child’s formal education should begin. This bill would restrict parents’ freedom to decide if their children are ready for school.

Another significant impact of expanding the compulsory attendance age would be an inevitable tax increase to pay for more classroom space and teachers to accommodate the additional students compelled to attend public school.

View the text of House Bill 723.

View the text of House Bill 826.

View the text of House Bill 1134.

View the text of Senate Bill 2349.

View the text of Senate Bill 2352.

View the text of Senate Bill 2815.

View the text of Senate Bill 2842.

For more information on compulsory attendance, please see our memorandum.

Please call or email today!

Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

P.S. We greatly value you and your support—it is a privilege to serve you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you consider taking a moment today to join or recommend us? Your support enables us to defend individual families threatened by government officials and protect homeschooling freedom for all. Join now >>

• • • •

Is Customer Service an Art or a Science?

For us, good customer service is both an art and a science—it should appeal to our members and be effective. Consider what our members say about us:

We’re thankful for the support HSLDA membership provides us. We’d never homeschool without them. We highly recommend HSLDA to all homeschoolers.
—North Tonawanda, NY

I cannot imagine our homeschool journey without HSLDA’s strong leadership, protection, and guidance. God bless HSLDA!
— Alta Loma, California

More reasons to join HSLDA >>


The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association • P.O. Box 3000 • Purcellville, Virginia 20134-9000
Phone: (540) 338-5600 • Fax: (540) 338-2733 • Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

Subscription Information: You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:
##ToAddress##

Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Change Settings

POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.

DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers. HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded, or sent by any party other than HSLDA.

NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address; hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also email staff directly through the Members website at http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.

© 2014 HSLDA. All rights reserved.