From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/5/2013 1:22:23 PM
Mike Donnelly--HSLDA
URGENT: Protect Your Family From Unwarranted Abuse and Neglect Investigations

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


URGENT: Protect Your Family From Unwarranted
Abuse and Neglect Investigations

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends,

Several bills have been introduced in the West Virginia Legislature
threatening homeschooling freedoms and parental rights. Your action is
urgently needed to protect our liberties and stop this legislation.
Senate Bill ("SB") 404 and House Bill ("HB") 2197 allow the state to
prosecute for child neglect if a child is "habitually absent from
school without good cause." What is good cause? Who gets to decide?

There are already truancy laws that are adequate to handle absence
from school. Before adding new sanctions schools should enforce the
laws on the books. Families should not be at risk of having their
children taken away just for missing school. This would affect any
family that wants to withdraw their child from school immediately but
would risk "habitual truancy" if they chose not to abide by the 14-day
waiting period in the homeschool law which HSLDA believes may be
unconstitutional.

ACTION REQUESTED

Habitual Truancy as Child Neglect--SB 404 and HB 2197. Please contact
members of both the House and Senate Education Committees and give
them the following messages in your own words:

"I am calling to oppose SB 404 (or for the House HB 2197). SF 404/HB
2197 defines habitual school absences as a form of child neglect. This
bill conflates truancy and neglect and allows for parents to be
charged with neglect and possibly lose their children just because
they are missing school. Truancy issues can often be the result of
misunderstandings or miscommunication, and escalating the issue to an
accusation of neglect is unwarranted. Truancy should not be presumed
to be neglect. This bill did not proceed last year after being
studied and should not move forward this year. Last year in the study
committee it was reported that there was over 90% attendance
compliance in West Virginia, so this law is certainly not indicated.
Please vote against SB 404/HB 2197."


Please contact the members according to your last name below and also
your own delegate or senator! To find out who your senator or
delegate is you can visit these links:

Senate: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17450
House of Delegates: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17451

If your last name begins with A-C, please contact these delegates
concerning HB 2197:

Delegate Mary M. Poling, Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3265
E-mail: mary.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Josh Stowers, Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3337
E-mail: josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amanda Pasdon, Minority Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3153
E-mail: amanda@amandapasdon.com

Delegate Linda Sumner, Minority Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3180
E-mail: linda.sumner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Anthony Barill
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3173
E-mail: anthony.barill@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jason Barrett
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3188
E-mail: jason.barrett@wvhouse.gov

If your last name begins with D-G, please contact these delegates
concerning HB 2197:

Delegate Denise L. Campbell
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3145
E-mail: denise.campbell@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ron Fragale
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3102
E-mail: ron.fragale@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tiffany Elizabeth Lawrence
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3152
E-mail: lawrencefordelegate@hotmail.com

Delegate David G. Perry
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3269
E-mail: d.perry@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dave Pethtel
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3158
E-mail: dave.pethtel@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ted Tomblin
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3297
E-mail: ted.tomblin@wvhouse.gov

If your last name begins with H-K, please contact these delegates
concerning HB 2197:

Delegate David Walker
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3135
E-mail: david.walker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry A. Williams
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3160
E-mail: larry.williams@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Adam R. Young
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3352
E-mail: adam.young@wvhouse.gov

Delegate George Ambler
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3129
E-mail: george.ambler@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jim Butler
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3199
E-mail: jim.butler@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roy Cooper
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3119
E-mail: roy.cooper@wvhouse.gov

If your last name begins with L-O, please contact these delegates
concerning HB 2197:

Delegate Paul Espinosa
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3130
E-mail: paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov

Delegate David A. Evans
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3151
E-mail: david.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Hamrick
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3141
E-mail: danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Suzette Raines
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail: suzette.raines@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ruth Rowan
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3157
E-mail: ruth.rowan@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Steve Westfall
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3140
E-mail: steve.westfall@wvhouse.gov

If your last name begins with P-S, please contact these senators
concerning SB 404:

Senator Robert H. Plymale
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7937
E-mail: robert.plymale@wvsenate.gov

Senator Erik Wells
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7841
E-mail: erik.wells@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert D. Beach
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7919
E-mail: bob.beach@wvsenate.gov

Senator H. Truman Chafin
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7808
E-mail: truman.chafin@wvsenate.gov

Senator Larry J. Edgell
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7827
E-mail: larry.edgell@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel J. Hall
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7807
E-mail: daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator William R. Laird IV
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7849
E-mail: william.laird@wvsenate.gov

If your last name begins with T-Z, please contact these senators
concerning SB 404:

Senator Ron Stollings
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7939
E-mail: ron.stollings@frontier.com

Senator Gregory A. Tucker
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7906
E-mail: greg.tucker@wvsenate.gov

Senator John R. Unger II
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7933
E-mail: john.unger@wvsenate.gov

Senator Clark S. Barnes
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7973
E-mail: clark.barnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Donna J. Boley
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7905
E-mail: donnaboley@suddenlink.net

Senator Mitch Carmichael
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7855
E-mail: Mitch.Carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bill Cole
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7843
E-mail: bill.cole@wvsenate.gov


Thank you for all you do in defense of freedom for families in the
great state of West Virginia!

Very truly yours,


Michael P. Donnelly, Esq.
HSLDA Staff Attorney

P.S. We greatly value you and your support--it is a privilege to serve
you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you
consider taking a moment today to join or recommend us? Your support
for our work enables us to defend individual families threatened by
government officials and protect homeschooling freedom for all. Join
now >> http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17452

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Is customer service an art or a science?

For us, good customer service is both an art and a science
-it should appeal to our members and be effective. Consider what
our members say about us:

The freedom HSLDA allows me to have as I homeschool is wonderful!
They handle the law and I get to dedicate the time to my daughter.
- National City, CA

HSLDA members since 1993, our membership is just as important to
us as our children's curriculum. Thank you HSLDA for all you do on
our behalf! - West Valley, NY

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1941

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================