From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/22/2013 12:39:40 PM
Dee Black--HSLDA
Mississippi: Calls Needed to Stop Common Core Standards Bill

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Calls Needed to Stop Common Core Standards Bill

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your calls and emails are needed to stop Mississippi Senate Bill 2056,
which involves the implementation of Common Core State Standards
(CCSS) for college readiness. The CCSS are standards published by the
National Governors Association in 2010 for public schools. But Senate
Bill 2056 would extend the application of the CCSS to college
readiness and thus college admission. State colleges and universities
in Mississippi may determine whether to admit a student based on his
or her performance in courses whose contents reflect the CCSS.
Obviously this would discriminate against the vast majority of
homeschool graduates whose secondary curriculum was not based on the
CCSS to the extent that they would probably be denied entrance to a
Mississippi college or university.

Senate Bill 2056 passed the Senate on February 13. It is now in the
House Universities and Colleges Committee, which could vote on this
bill at any time. Members of the committee need to know that
Mississippi homeschoolers do not want this bill to become law.
Action Requested

1. Please call and/or email members of the House Universities and
Colleges Committee with this message or something similar in your own
words:

"Please vote against Senate Bill 2056, which would extend the
application of Common Core State Standards to college readiness.
Students who graduate from a nonpublic school should not have to use a
public school curriculum in order to be admitted to college."

If your last name begins with A-K, please contact:

Nolan Mettetal, Chairman
(601) 359-3331
nmettetal@house.ms.gov

Gregory Holloway, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-2435
gholloway@house.ms.gov

Toby Barker
(601) 359-3362
tbarker@house.ms.gov

Richard Bennett
(601) 359-2860
rbennett@house.ms.gov

Cecil Brown
(601) 359-9396
cbrown@house.ms.gov

Kelvin Buck
(601) 359-4083
kbuck@house.ms.gov

Kimberly Campbell Buck
(601) 359-4083
kcbuck@house.ms.gov

Clara Burnett
(601) 359-2422
cburnett@house.ms.gov

Lester Carpenter
(601) 359-2425
lcarpenter@house.ms.gov

Bob Evans
(601) 359-3354
bevans@house.ms.gov

Joey Hood
(601) 359-3339
jhood@house.ms.gov

Mac Huddleston
(601) 359-3340
mhuddleston@house.ms.gov

Bill Kinkade
bkinkade@house.ms.gov

If your last name begins with L-M, please contact:

John Thomas "Trey" Lamar, III
(601) 359-2431
jlamar@house.ms.gov

Hank Lott
(601) 359-2435
hlott@house.ms.gov

Steve Massengill
(601) 359-3338
smassengill@house.ms.gov

Brad Mayo
(601) 359-2431
bmayo@house.ms.gov

Doug McLeod
(601) 359-3311
dmcleod@house.ms.gov

Pat Nelson
(601) 359-3339
pnelson@house.ms.gov

Brad A. Oberhousen
(601) 359-2439
boberhousen@house.ms.gov

Randall Patterson
(601) 359-4074
rhpatterson@house.ms.gov

Bobby Shows
(601) 359-3337
bshows@house.ms.gov

Gary V. Staples
(601) 359-3017
gstaples@house.ms.gov

Jody Steverson
(601) 359-2435
jsteverson@house.ms.gov

Tommy Taylor
ttaylor@house.ms.gov

Adrienne Wooten
(601) 359-2433
awooten@house.ms.gov

Charles Young, Jr.
(601) 359-2432
cyoung@house.ms.gov

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the committee
about this bill.

View the text of this bill: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17318

For more information on the Common Core State Standards, please see
our article: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17319

Please call or email today!

Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

P.S. We greatly value you and your support--it is a privilege to serve
you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you
consider taking a moment today to join or to recommend us as we defend
the rights of homeschooling families? Join now:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17320

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Who's knocking on your door?

When a social service worker arrives at your door, tension can run
high. Wouldn't it be nice to get your lawyer on the phone,
providing you with immediate step-by-step guidance?

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1099

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================