From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

1/31/2013 4:47:37 PM
Dee Black--HSLDA
Mississippi--Emails Needed to Support Family Protection Bill

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Mississippi -- Emails Needed to Support Family Protection Bill

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your emails are needed to help pass House Bill 1320, which would
require the Department of Human Services to train persons conducting
child abuse or neglect investigations in their legal duties to protect
the constitutional and statutory rights of parents and families during
the course of an investigation.

The federal Child Abuse Prevention and Training Act (CAPTA) passed in
2003 requires states to implement such training, but Mississippi has
not yet done so. HSLDA proposed this language in the federal law to
help protect families from violations of their rights during
investigations. For example, most child protection services (CPS)
investigators do not know that they are subject to the limitations
imposed by the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution on
entering people's homes and search and seizure.

House Bill 1320 is presently in the House Public Health and Human
Services Committee. We do not know when this bill would be considered,
so please contact members of the Committee right away.

Action Requested:

1. Please email as many members of the House Public Health and Human
Services Committee as possible with this message or a similar message
in your own words:

"Please vote for House Bill 1320, which would require that persons
conducting child abuse and neglect investigations be trained in their
legal duties to protect the constitutional and statutory rights of
families."

When emailing members of the Committee, we recommend that you put in
the subject line: "I support HB 1320." It is not necessary to identify
yourself as a homeschooler. This is broader than just a homeschooling
issue.

Rep. Sam Mims, chairman of the Committee, is already supportive of HB
1320. The other members of the Committee are:

Last names A-F please contact:

Rep. Toby Barker (R-102), Vice-Chairman
tbarker@house.ms.gov

Rep. Brian Aldridge (R-17)
baldridge@house.ms.gov

Rep. Cecil Brown (D-66)
cbrown@house.ms.gov

Rep. Chris Brown (R-20)
crbrown@house.ms.gov

Rep. Kimberly Campbell Buck (D-72)
kcampbell@house.ms.gov

Rep. Bryant W. Clark (D-47)
bclark@house.ms.gov

Rep. Mary H. Coleman (D-65)
mcoleman@house.ms.gov

Last names G-L please contact:

Rep. Carolyn Crawford (R-121)
ccrawford@house.ms.gov

Rep. Becky Currie (R-92)
bcurrie@house.ms.gov

Rep. Dennis DeBar (R-105)
ddebar@house.ms.gov

Rep. James Evans (D-70)
jevans@house.ms.gov

Rep. Eugene Forrest Hamilton (R-6)
efhamilton@house.ms.gov

Rep. John W. Hines, Sr. (D-50)
jhines@house.ms.gov

Rep. Joey Hood (R-35)
jhood@house.ms.gov

Last names M-R please contact:

Rep. Kevin Horan (D-24)
khoran@house.ms.gov

Rep. Bobby B. Howell (R-46)
bhowell@house.ms.gov

Rep. Hank Lott (R-101)
hlott@house.ms.gov

Rep. Brad Mayo (R-12)
bmayo@house.ms.gov

Rep. Tom Miles (D-75)
tmiles@house.ms.gov

Rep. Bobby Moak (D-53)
bmoak@house.ms.gov

Rep. Brent Powell (R-59)
bpowell@house.ms.gov

Last names S-Z please contact:

Rep. John Read (R-112)
jread@house.ms.gov

Rep. Randy Rushing (R-78)
rrushing@house.ms.gov

Rep. Bobby Shows (R-89)
bshows@house.ms.gov

Rep. Jeffrey C. Smith (R-39)
jsmith@house.ms.gov

Rep. Jessica Upshaw (R-95)
jupshaw@house.ms.gov

Rep. Linda Whittington (D-34)
lwhittington@house.ms.gov

Rep. Sonya Williams-Barnes (D-119)
swilliams-barnes@house.ms.gov

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the Committee.

View the text of this bill > >
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17055

Please email today!

Very truly yours,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

P.S. We greatly value you and your support--it is a privilege to serve
you! If you or someone you know is not a member of HSLDA, will you
consider taking a moment today to join or recommend us? Your support
for our work enables us to defend individual families and protect
homeschooling freedom for all. Join now:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?i

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> You can get a little latte or a lotta legal.

With our new payment options, you can join HSLDA for as little as
$10/month, less than the price of a cup of coffee a week.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1109

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================