From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

1/28/2013 12:03:45 PM
Dee Black--HSLDA
Mississippi--Calls Needed to Support Parental Rights Bill

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Mississippi--Calls Needed to Support Parental Rights Bill

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your calls and emails are needed to help pass Mississippi House Bill
496, which would preserve the fundamental right of parents to direct
the upbringing, education, and care of their children.

Why is this law needed? Currently parental rights in Mississippi are
based only on court decisions. This case law is subject to change in
the future according to which judges decide the cases. By passing a
parental rights statute, Mississippi would prevent the erosion of
these rights through unfavorable court decisions.

House Bill 496 is likely to be heard by the House Judiciary B
Committee when it meets this Thursday, January 31, at 9:00 a.m.
Members of this committee need to know that the vast majority of
Mississippi families want to preserve traditional parental rights.

Members of the House Judiciary B Committee need to hear from you
today!

Action Requested:

1. Please call and/or email as many members of the House Judiciary B
Committee as possible with this message or a similar message in your
own words:

"Please vote for House Bill 496, which would preserve the fundamental
right of parents to direct the upbringing, education, and care of
their children. Currently this right is based only on court decisions
that are subject to change in the future according to which judges
decide the cases."

When calling members of the Committee, it is not necessary to identify
yourself as a homeschooler. This is broader than just a homeschooling
issue.

Rep. Andy Gibson, chairman of the Committee, and Rep. Alex Monsour
(R-54) are already supportive of HB 496. The other members of the
House Judiciary B Committee are:

Last names beginning with A-G, please contact:

Rep. Kimberly Campbell Buck (D-72)
Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-4083
kcbuck@house.ms.gov

Rep. Willie Bailey (D-49)
(601) 359-9311
wbailey@house.ms.gov

Rep. Nick Bain (D-2)
(601) 359-3338
nbain@house.ms.gov

Rep. David Baria (D-122)
(601) 359-3133
dbaria@house.ms.gov

Rep. Charles Busby (R-111)
(601) 359-3373
cbusby@house.ms.gov

Rep. Gary Chism (R-37)
(601) 359-3364
gchism@house.ms.gov

Rep. Dennis DeBar (R-105)
(601) 359-2436
ddebar@house.ms.gov

Rep. Casey Eure (R-116)
(601) 359-9466
ceure@house.ms.gov

Last names beginning with H-O, please contact:

Rep. Jeffrey S. Guice (R-114)
(601) 576-2508
jguice@house.ms.gov

Rep. Joey Hood (R-35)
(601) 359-3339
jhood@house.ms.gov

Rep. Kevin Horan (D-24)
(601) 359-2438
khoran@house.ms.gov

Rep. Timmy Ladner (R-93)
(601) 359-2438
tladner@house.ms.gov

Rep. Sherra Hillman Lane (D-86)
(601) 359-9485
slane@house.ms.gov

Rep. Sam C. Mims, V (R-97)
(601) 359-3320
smims@house.ms.gov

Rep. John L. Moore (R-60)
(601) 359-3330
jmoore@house.ms.gov

Rep. Brad A. Oberhousen (D-73)
(601) 359-2439
boberhousen@house.ms.gov

Last names beginning with P-Z, please contact:

Rep. Ferr Smith (D-27)
(601) 359-9395
fsmith@house.ms.gov

Rep. Greg Snowden (R-83)
(601) 359-3304
greg@gregsnowden.com

Rep. Tommy Taylor (R-28)
ttaylor@house.ms.gov

Rep. Joseph L. Warren (D-90)
(601) 359-3014
jwarren@house.ms.gov

Rep. Jason White (R-48)
(601) 359-2861
jwhite@house.ms.gov

Rep. Adrienne Wooten (D-71)
(601) 359-2433
awooten@house.ms.gov

Rep. Henry Zuber, III (R-113)
(601) 359-3328
hzuber@house.ms.gov

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the Committee.

Background:

The application of strict scrutiny legal protection to the fundamental
right of parents to direct the upbringing, education, and care of
their children is well established in nearly every state. But this
standard is established through jurisprudence, and not as a matter of
legislative law.

Where state level jurisprudence has established this strict scrutiny
protection, it is almost always based, in whole or in part, on federal
Supreme Court precedent. This fundamental right, first articulated in
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923), has been more fully expounded
through Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925), Prince v.
Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) and a stream of other cases.

But this standard is beginning to erode at the U.S. Supreme Court. The
Troxel v. Granville decision, 530 U.S. 57 (2000), implicated this
fundamental right, yet without application of the high strict scrutiny
standard--the first time the two terms have been divorced in American
jurisprudence.

Passing a state statute to define parental rights and legislate for
the application of strict scrutiny protection to this right will:

> Establish fundamental parental rights and the application of strict
scrutiny protection as a matter of statutory law;
> Prevent the erosion of this right now occurring at the federal level
from poisoning the jurisprudence of the state courts;
> Protect parents from the overreach of government while preserving
the state's interest in protecting children from abuse or neglect;
> Protect the right of children in healthy homes to be raised and
guided by parents who love them, not by bureaucrats or judges who do
not know them.
> NOT create any new rights or standards, but simply take the right
currently protected under case law and place it under the shelter of
statutory law, safe from possible erosion in the courts.

View the text of this bill > >
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=17000

Please call or email today!

Very truly yours,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> How long are you in for?

Some families are facing what seems like a lifelong commitment to
homeschooling, with children at both ends of the spectrum -- some
graduating and some just reaching school age. If you're going to
be "in" for a while, consider a lifetime membership with HSLDA.
It's a good deal for families with more than 10 years of
homeschooling ahead.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1936

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================