From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/30/2012 4:31:49 PM
Dee Black--HSLDA
Alaska: Calls Needed -- Bad Compulsory Attendance Age Bill Passes Senate

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Alaska: Calls Needed--Bad Compulsory
Attendance Age Bill Passes Senate

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Bad news! Senate Bill 9, legislation that would greatly increase the
state's control over education by expanding the compulsory attendance
age, passed the Alaska Senate this past Wednesday. It is now in the
House of Representatives where it is being considered by the
Education, Judiciary, and Finance Committees. Your calls and emails to
members of these committees are needed to stop this bill that
threatens the freedoms of all Alaska families with children.

Current law requires school attendance between the ages of 7 and 16 or
completion of the 12th grade. Senate Bill 9 would change the ages to
between 6 and 18, completion of the 12th grade, or graduation from
high school. This would potentially add another three years of
homeschooling for every child, regardless of the child's level of
maturity or readiness to begin formal instruction at age 6 and
regardless of the child's aptitude or interests at age 16.

If this bill passes, parents will be required to comply with the
homeschool law one year earlier and for an additional two years unless
the child first completes the 12th grade or graduates from high
school. This means that parents of a high school student will be
locked into another two years of homeschooling at a time when the
child may wish to pursue other educational options or begin a
vocation. As freedom-loving homeschoolers, we oppose any effort to
expand the state's control over education in any form.

Action Requested:

1. Please call and/or email members of the House Education, Judiciary,
and Finance Committees with this message or something similar in your
own words:

"Please vote against Senate Bill 9 which would expand Alaska's
compulsory school attendance age by adding three years to the time a
child is required to attend school. Parents, not state officials, are
best able to determine when their child is ready for formal education.
This bill also restricts the right of parents to choose when a child
may pursue other educational or work options. Requiring the attendance
of students who are unwilling to remain in school beyond age 16 will
have a disruptive effect on other students' learning. Additionally,
such an expansion in involuntary school attendance will inevitably
result in a tax increase to pay for more teachers and classrooms."

When contacting members of these committees, it is not necessary to
identify yourself as a homeschooler. This issue is broader than
homeschooling.

Members of the House Education Committee are as follows:

Representative Alan Dick, Chair
Representative_Alan_Dick@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4527

Representative Lance Pruitt, Vice-Chair
Representative_Lance_Pruitt@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3438

Representative Eric Feige
Representative_Eric_Feige@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4859

Representative Paul Seaton
Representative_Paul_Seaton@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-2689

Representative Peggy Wilson
Representative_Peggy_Wilson@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3824

Representative Sharon Cissna
Representative_Sharon_Cissna@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3875

Representative Scott Kawasaki
Representative_Scott_Kawasaki@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3466

Members of the House Judiciary Committee are as follows:

Representative Carl Gatto, Chair
Representative_Carl_Gatto@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3743

Representative Steve Thompson, Vice-Chair
Representative_Steve_Thompson@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3004

Representative Wes Keller
Representative_Wes_Keller@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-2186

Representative Bob Lynn
Representative_Bob_Lynn@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4931

Representative Lance Pruitt
Representative_Lance_Pruitt@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3438

Representative Max Gruenberg
Representative_Max_Gruenberg@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4940

Representative Lindsey Holmes
Representative_Lindsey_Holmes@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4919

Representative Mike Hawker, Alternate
Representative_Mike_Hawker@legis.state.ak.us
465-4949

Members of the House Finance Committee are as follows:

Representative Bill Stolze, Co-Chair
Representative_Bill_Stoltze@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4958

Representative Bill Thomas, Co-Chair
Representative_Bill_Thomas@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3732

Representative Anna Fairclough, Vice-Chair
Representative_Anna_Fairclough@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-3777

Representative Mia Costello
Representative_Mia_Costello@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4968

Representative Bryce Edgmon
Representative_Bryce_Edgmon@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4451

Representative Reggie Joule
Representative_Reggie_Joule@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4833

Representative Mark Neuman
Representative_Mark_Neuman@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-2679

Representative Tammie Wilson
Representative_Tammie_Wilson@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4797

Representative Mike Doogan
Representative_Mike_Doogan@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4998

Representative Les Gara
Representative_Les_Gara@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-2647

Representative David Guttenberg
Representative_David_Guttenberg@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4457

Representative Mike Hawker, Alternate
Representative_Mike_Hawker@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4949

Representative Beth Kerttula, Alternate
Representative_Beth_Kerttula@legis.state.ak.us
(907) 465-4766

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of these committees.

Background:

Many education experts have concluded that beginning a child's formal
education too early may actually result in burnout and poor scholastic
performance later.

Lowering the compulsory attendance age erodes the authority of parents
who are in the best position to determine when their child's formal
education should begin. This bill would restrict parents' freedom to
decide if their children are ready for school.

Another significant impact of expanding the compulsory attendance age
would be an inevitable tax increase to pay for more classroom space
and teachers to accommodate the additional students compelled to
attend public school.

Raising the compulsory attendance age will not reduce the dropout
rate. In fact, the two states with the highest high school completion
rates, Maryland at 94.5% and North Dakota at 94.7%, compel attendance
only to age 16. The state with the lowest completion rate (Oregon:
75.4%) compels attendance to age 18. (Figures are three-year averages,
1996 through 1998.)

Twenty-nine states only require attendance to age 16. Older children
unwilling to learn can cause classroom disruptions and even violence,
making learning harder for their classmates who truly want to learn.

It would restrict parents' freedom to decide if their 16-year-old is
ready for college or the work force. Some 16-year-olds who are not
academically inclined will benefit more from valuable work experience
than from being forced to sit in a classroom.

To view the text of this bill, please go to
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=14255

For more information on compulsory attendance, please see our
memorandum at http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=14256

Please call or email today!


Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Can you look at the clouds and tell the direction of the wind?

An interesting phenomenon of wind is that it can blow in multiple
directions at the same time, at different heights from the ground.
But usually there is a prevailing wind. HSLDA watches the gusts
and monitors the prevailing trends of change in the legal climate
of home education. So no matter which way the wind is blowing,
we're there to protect your family.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1938

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================