From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/26/2012 4:22:02 PM
Dee Black--HSLDA
Mississippi -- Calls Needed to Pass Family Protection Bill

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Mississippi -- Calls Needed to Pass Family Protection Bill

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your calls and emails are needed to pass Mississippi House Bill 760,
which would require social workers to be trained in protecting the
constitutional and statutory rights of children and families during an
investigation. This bill passed the House of Representatives by a
unanimous vote on March 9, but it is currently stalled in the Senate
Public Health and Welfare Committee and Senate Appropriations
Committee. When a bill like this is referred to two committees, it
usually means that the bill will die without going to the full Senate
for a vote. Members of these committees need to know that Mississippi
families want social workers to be properly trained to protect the
rights of persons they are investigating.

The federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires
states to adopt and implement measures for protecting families during
the child investigative process. First, child protective services
workers must be trained in their duty to protect the statutory and
constitutional rights of those they are investigating. Second, child
protective services personnel must advise individuals being
investigated for child abuse and neglect of the complaint or
allegation made against them. Mississippi enacted legislation in 2007
to comply with the second of these requirements. Passage of HB 760 is
needed to achieve full compliance.

Implementing all aspects of the CAPTA requirements is crucial to
protecting not only homeschooling families but all families who are
investigated by social services for any reason. Unfortunately, most
social workers do not know that they are subject to the constitutional
limitations of the Fourth Amendment, which guarantees the right
against unreasonable searches and seizures. Many social workers
believe that they have more authority than a law enforcement officer
to enter a family's home to interview the children and inspect the
premises. Oftentimes, social workers refuse to advise parents of the
reason for the investigation until the parents have agreed to let them
enter the home. CAPTA is intended to educate social workers and put a
stop to these abuses.
Action Requested:

1. Please call and/or email as many members of the Senate Public
Health and Welfare Committee and Senate Appropriations Committee as
possible with this message or something similar in your own words:

"Please vote for House Bill 760, which would require social workers to
be trained in protecting the constitutional and statutory rights of
children and families during an investigation. This bill passed the
House of Representatives by a unanimous vote on March 9."

There is no need for you to identify yourself as a home educator when
you contact members of the committees. This legislation will affect
all Mississippi families who are subjected to a social services
investigation.

The members of the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee are as
follows:

Last names beginning with A-M please contact:

Dean Kirby, Chairman
(601) 359-3234
dkirby@senate.ms.gov

Hob Bryan, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3237
hbryan@senate.ms.gov

David Blount
(601) 359-3232
dblount@senate.ms.gov

Terry C. Burton
(601) 359-3234
tburton@senate.ms.gov

Nancy Adams Collins
(601) 359-3226
ncollins@senate.ms.gov

Merle Flowers
(601) 359-3211
mflowers@senate.ms.gov

Hillman Terome Frazier
(601) 359-3246
hfrazier@senate.ms.gov

Alice Harden
(601) 359-3237
aharden@senate.ms.gov

Josh Harkins
(601) 359-3252
jharkins@senate.ms.gov

Last names beginning with N-Z please contact:

W. Briggs Hopson, III
(601) 359-3237
bhopson@senate.ms.gov

Gary Jackson
(601) 359-3221
gjackson@senate.ms.gov

Kenneth Wayne Jones
(601) 359-3232
kjones@senate.ms.gov

Rita Potts Parks
(601) 359-3232
rparks@senate.ms.gov

Willie Simmons
(601) 359-3237
wsimmons@senate.ms.gov

Tony Smith
(601) 359-3252
tsmith@senate.ms.gov

Melanie Sojourner
(601) 359-3250
msojourner@senate.ms.gov

Gray Tollison
(601) 359-3244
gtollison@senate.ms.gov

Bennie L. Turner
(601) 359-3237
bturner@senate.ms.gov

Brice Wiggins
(601) 359-3232
bwiggins@senate.ms.gov

The members of the Senate Appropriations Committee are as follows:

Last names beginning with A-M please contact:

Eugene S. Clarke, Chairman
(601) 359-3250
bclarke@senate.ms.gov

Terry C. Burton, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3234
tburton@senate.ms.gov

David Blount
(601) 359-3232
dblount@senate.ms.gov

Terry W. Brown
(601) 359-3209
tbrown@senate.ms.gov

Albert Butler
(601) 359-3232
abutler@senate.ms.gov

Videt Carmichael
(601) 359-3244
vcarmichael@senate.ms.gov

Nancy Adams Collins
(601) 359-3226
ncollins@senate.ms.gov

Hillman Terome Frazier
(601) 359-3246
hfrazier@senate.ms.gov

Phillip A. Gandy
(601) 359-3252
pgandy@senate.ms.gov

Tommy A. Gollott
(601) 359-2220
tgollott@senate.ms.gov

Alice Harden
(601) 359-3237
aharden@senate.ms.gov

Angela Burks Hill
(601) 359-3226
ahill@senate.ms.gov

W. Briggs Hopson, III
(601) 359-3237
bhopson@senate.ms.gov

Last names beginning with N-Z please contact:

John Horhn
(601) 359-3237
jhorhn@senate.ms.gov

Gary Jackson
(601) 359-3221
gjackson@senate.ms.gov

Robert L. Jackson
(601) 359-3221
rjackson@senate.ms.gov

Sampson Jackson II
(601) 359-2220
sjackson@senate.ms.gov

Russell Jolly
(601) 359-2886
rjolly@senate.ms.gov

Perry Lee
(601) 359-3244
plee@senate.ms.gov

Chris McDaniel
(601) 359-2220
cmcdaniel@senate.ms.gov

Willie Simmons
(601) 359-3237
wsimmons@senate.ms.gov

Melanie Sojourner
(601) 359-3250
msojourner@senate.ms.gov

Sean J. Tindell
(601) 359-3252
stindell@senate.ms.gov

Bennie L. Turner
(601) 359-3237
bturner@senate.ms.gov

Brice Wiggins
(601) 359-3232
bwiggins@senate.ms.gov

J. P. Wilemon, Jr.
(601) 359-3232
jwilemon@senate.ms.gov

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the committees.

View the text of this bill online:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=14178

Please call or email today!

Very truly yours,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> What do you look like when you get out of bed?

It's hard to look our best all the time. HSLDA works to present
homeschooling in an engaging, dynamic, and informative light to
the public news media.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1104

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================