From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/16/2012 7:14:39 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
West Virginia: Calls Needed Tonight to Protect Religious Freedom!

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Calls Needed Tonight to Protect Religious Freedom!


Dear West Virginia HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your immediate help is needed in support of an important bill! We
have just received word that the House Judiciary committee will meet
tomorrow morning to discuss and potentially vote on House Bill 2657,
the West Virginia Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA). This bill
will protect religious freedom and is necessary because of recent
United States Supreme Court rulings that have effectively abandoned
religious freedom as a fundamental constitutional right of its own.

If passed, HB 2657 would prohibit the government from substantially
burdening a person's exercise of religion unless it meets the highest
constitutional test available. That test requires that the government
show that its action which burdens a person's religious freedom is
"essential to further a compelling governmental interest and it is the
least restrictive means of furthering that interest."

Please take action, as requested below, to help secure this important
freedom.

ACTION REQUESTED

Please call members of the House Judiciary Committee and ask them to
support HB 2657. Because this legislation applies to all West Virginia
citizens, you need not identify yourself as a homeschooler. Please use
the following message as a guide, but be sure to use your own words:

"Please support House Bill 2657, the West Virginia Religious Freedom
Restoration Act. HB 2657 strengthens our First Amendment rights of
religious liberty by requiring states to meet the compelling interest
test before infringing on the religious beliefs of West Virginia
citizens. This test is necessary to protect religious freedom."

Families whose last name begins with A-K contact delegates 1-13.
Families whose last name begins with L-Z contact delegates 13-25.
(If your delegate is on the committee, please contact him as well.)

Contact information is below:

1. Delegate Tim Miley - Judiciary Committee Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
Business Phone: (304) 326-1800
E-mail: tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

2. Delegate Mark Hunt - Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
Business Phone: (304) 344-1800
E-mail: mhunt@markahunt.com

3. Delegate John Ellem - Minority Committee Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
Business Phone: (304) 424-5297
E-mail: john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

4. Delegate Patrick Lane - Minority Committee Vice-Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
Business Phone: (304) 720-1497
E-mail: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

5. Delegate Larry Barker
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
Business Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

6. Delegate Bonnie Brown
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

7. Delegate John Doyle
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3184
Business Phone: (304) 876-1648
E-mail: johndoyle@wvhouse.gov

8. Delegate Michael Ferro
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
Business Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail: mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

9. Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
Business Phone: (304) 296-7035
E-mail: barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

10. Delegate John Frazier
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: jfrazier@mail.wvnet.edu

11. Delegate Linda Longstreth
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

12. Delegate Mike Manypenny
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
Business Phone: (304) 677-0379
E-mail: mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

13. Delegate Harold Michael
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
Business Phone: (304) 538-6881
E-mail: Harold@hardynet.com

14. Delegate Clif Moore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
Business Phone: (304) 436-8569
E-mail: clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

15. Delegate John Pino
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
Business Phone: N/A
E-mail: john.pino@wvhouse.gov

16. Delegate Meshea Poore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
Business Phone: (304) 720-0764
E-mail: meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

17. Delegate David Walker
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3135
Business Phone: (304) 340-3135
E-mail: david.walker@wvhouse.gov

18. Delegate Danny Wells
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

19. Delegate Bill Hamilton
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
Business Phone: (304) 472-1532
E-mail: bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

20. Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: woody.ireland@wvhouse.go

21. Delegate Jonathan Miller
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
Business Phone: (304) 283-5975
E-mail: jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

22. Delegate John Overington
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
Business Phone: (304) 274-1791
E-mail: john@overington.com

23. Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
Business Phone: (304) 736-6655
E-mail: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

24. Delegate John D. O'Neal IV
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3164
Business Phone: (304) 894-8445
E-mail: john.oneal@wvhouse.gov

25. Delegate Tim Manchin
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3166
Business Phone: (304) 367-1862
E-mail: tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

BACKGROUND

On June 25, 1997, by a 6-3 majority, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in
The City of Boerne v. Flores that the 1993 federal Religious Freedom
Restoration Act (RFRA) was unconstitutional. By doing this, the Court
gave the lowest level of protection to religious liberty. Under this
minimal standard, the state can override a citizen's right to freely
exercise his or her religious beliefs by simply proving that its
regulation is "reasonable." Since nearly all state regulations can be
determined to be "reasonable," religious freedom is exceedingly
limited.

If passed, the West Virginia RFRA would restore the standard of
protection for religious liberty previously guaranteed in the federal
RFRA and earlier Supreme Court decisions.

For additional information, visit our issues library at:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10179

HSLDA is working closely with the Christian Home Educators of West
Virginia (CHEWV) to support this legislation.

We are standing with you to defend your freedom!

Sincerely,

Michael P. Donnelly, Esq.
HSLDA Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> "I saved my entire membership fee with one discount"

"When I called Liberty to find out what kind of discount we could
get, they told us we would 10% off our car insurance and 5% off
our homeowner's insurance. What we will save is more than double
what it costs to join HSLDA. With one child getting his driver's
license this year, the savings will be a real blessing!"

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1108

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================