From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/21/2011 4:07:58 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Rhode Island--Urgent: Call Today to Stop UN Child's Rights Resolution

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Rhode Island--Urgent: Call Today to Stop UN Child's Rights Resolution

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

On Wednesday, March 23, the Rhode Island House Judiciary Committee
will hold a hearing on House Resolution 5517, which would urge the
United States Senate to ratify the Convention on the Rights of the
Child (CRC). Please call today to stop this bill!

Roughly 95% of family law in the United States is state law which
stands to be overridden by the CRC. HR 5517 admits as much, saying "If
enacted, the [CRC] would become superior to the laws of the states and
their judicial systems, and would be subordinate only to the text of
the [U.S.] Constitution."

Ratifying this treaty would obligate the national government to govern
and review every parental decision. (Read "Twenty Things You Need to
Know about the CRC" http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10653 )

ACTION REQUESTED

1. Before you close this email, please call the members of the House
Judiciary Committee and urge them to oppose HR 5517. Your message can
be as simple as, "Please vote no on HR 5517. The Rhode Island
legislature, not the United Nations, should govern in the crucial area
of how parents relate to their children."

2. Contact your friends and pass this on.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Rep. Edith H. Ajello, Chairman
rep-ajello@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 274-7078

Rep. Jon D. Brien
rep-brien@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 274-7078

Rep. Doreen Marie Costa
rep-costa@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 206-6891

Rep. Robert E. Flaherty, Secretary
rep-flaherty@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 737-9385

Rep. Charlene Lima
rep-lima@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 222-2258

Rep. Peter F. Martin
rep-martin@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 924-2402

Rep. J. Patrick O'Neill
rep-oneill@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 475-0265

Rep. Christopher R. Blazejewski
rep-blazejewski@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 484-8814

Rep. Michael W. Chippendale
rep-chippendale@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 497-4495

Rep. John J. DeSimone
rep-desimone@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 351-7373

Rep. Donald J. Lally Jr.
rep-lally@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 792-9090

Rep. Michael J. Marcello
rep-marcello@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 647-5905

Rep. Richard P. Morrison
rep-morrison@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 253-7845

Rep. Michael A. Tarro
rep-tarro@rilin.state.ri.us
(401) 272-8300


The Rhode Island Guild of Home Teachers and HSLDA are united in
opposing this bill.

Thank you for standing with us for freedom!

Sincerely,

Scott A. Woodruff
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Who's knocking on your door?

When a social service worker arrives at your door, tension can run
high. Wouldn't it be nice to get your lawyer on the phone,
providing you with immediate step-by-step guidance?

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1099

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================