From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/22/2011 5:34:58 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Connecticut: Calls Needed to Stop Change in Compulsory Attendance Law

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Connecticut--Calls Needed to Stop Change in Compulsory Attendance Law

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your calls are needed right away to members of the Joint Education
Committee to stop a bill that would eliminate the right of parents to
choose to wait until a child is 7 years old before sending the child
to school. Current law permits a parent to not send his child to
school by signing an option form. If Senate Bill 930 passes, parents
would no longer have the right to determine whether a 6-year-old is
ready for formal education. What this means for homeschoolers is that
they would be required to comply with the compulsory attendance law
one year earlier than is now required.

There is a hearing on Wednesday, February 25, 2011, at 11:00 a.m. by
the Joint Education Committee to consider this bill. Please call right
now to express your opposition to this unnecessary and restrictive
change in Connecticut law.

Action Requested:

1. Please call or email as many members of the Joint Education
Committee as possible with this message or something similar in your
own words:

"Please vote against Senate Bill 930, which would eliminate the right
of parents to choose to wait until a child is 7 years old before
sending the child to school. Parents, not school officials, are in the
best position to determine when their children are ready for formal
education."

Please do not identify yourself as a homeschooling family, since this
issue is broader than just homeschooling.

The contact information for members of the Joint Education Committee
is as follows:

Last names beginning with A-M please contact:

Rep. Andrew Fleischmann, Co-Chair (D)
(860) 240-0420
Andrew.Fleischmann@cga.ct.gov

Sen. Andrea Stillman, Co-Chair (D)
(800) 842-1420
http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Stillman-mailform.html

Rep. Douglas McCrory, Vice Chair (D)
(800) 842-8267
Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov

Sen. John Fonfara, Vice Chair (D)
(860) 240-0043
http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Fonfara-mailform.html

Rep. Marilyn Giuliano, Ranking Member (R)
(800) 842-1423
Marilyn.Giuliano@housegop.ct.gov

Sen. Antonietta "Toni" Boucher, Ranking Member (R)
(800) 842-1421
Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Tim Ackert (R)
(800) 842-1423
tim.ackert@housegop.ct.gov

Sen. Beth Bye (D)
(800) 842-1420
http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Bye-mailform.html

Rep. Christie Carpino (R)
(800) 842-1423
christie.carpino@housegop.ct.gov

Rep. Michelle L. Cook (D)
(800) 842-8267
Michelle.Cook@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Paul Davis (D)
(800) 842-8267
Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Henry Genga (D)
(860) 240-8585
henry.genga@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Auden C. Grogins (D)
(860) 240-8585
Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Gail K. Hamm (D)
(800) 842-8267
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

Rep. DebraLee Hovey (R)
(800) 842-1423
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.state.ct.us

Last names beginning with N-Z please contact:

Rep. Susan Johnson (D)
(800) 842-8267
Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov

Sen. Rob Kane (R)
(800) 842-1421
Rob.Kane@cga.ct.gov

Rep. David W. Kiner (D)
(800) 842-8267
David.Kiner@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Brenda Kupchick (R)
(800) 842-1423
Brenda.Kupchick@housegop.ct.gov

Rep. Gail Lavielle (R)
(800) 842-1423
gail.lavielle@housegop.ct.gov

Rep. Tim LeGeyt (R)
(800) 842-1423
Tim.LeGeyt@housegop.ct.gov

Rep. Matthew Lesser (D)
(800) 842-8267
Matthew.Lesser@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Christopher Lyddy (D)
(800) 824-8267
Christopher.Lyddy@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Steve Mikutel (D)
(800) 842-8267
Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Patricia Billie Miller (D)
(800) 842-8267
Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Sandy Nafis (D)
(800) 842-8267
Sandy.Nafis@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Michael L. Molgano (R)
(800) 842-1423
michael.molgano@housegop.ct.gov

Rep. Tom Reynolds (D)
(800) 842-8267
Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Jason Rojas (D)
(800) 842-8267
Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Prasad Srinivasan
(800) 842-1423
prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov

2. Please forward this email to every homeschooling family you know
who is not a member of HSLDA and urge them to contact members of the
committee with this same message.

To view the text of Senate Bill 930, please visit
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10422 .

For more information on compulsory attendance, please see our
memorandum at http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10423 .


Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> What's the shortest distance between two homeschoolers?

HSLDA's elert service! When threats to homeschool freedoms arise,
you want to be able to respond. We make it possible.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1101

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================