From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/2/2011 4:19:42 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
West Virginia--Calls Needed to Protect Religious Freedom!

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


West Virginia--Calls Needed to Protect Religious Freedom!

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

On January 26, Delegate Tim Miley introduced House Bill 2873, the West
Virginia Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA), to protect
religious freedom. This bill is necessary because of recent United
States Supreme Court rulings that have effectively abandoned religious
freedom as a fundamental constitutional right of its own.

If passed, HB 2873 would prohibit the government from substantially
burdening a person's exercise of religion unless it meets the highest
constitutional test available. That test requires that the government
show that its action which burdens a person's religious freedom is
"essential to further a compelling governmental interest and it is the
least restrictive means of furthering that interest."

Please take action, as requested below, to help secure this important
freedom.

ACTION REQUESTED

Please call members of the House Judiciary Committee and ask them to
support HB 2873. Because this legislation applies to all West Virginia
citizens, you need not identify yourself as a homeschooler. Please use
the following message as a guide, but be sure to use your own words:

"Please support House Bill 2873, the West Virginia Religious Freedom
Restoration Act. HB 2873 strengthens our First Amendment rights of
religious liberty by requiring states to meet the compelling interest
test before infringing on the religious beliefs of West Virginia
citizens. This test is necessary to protect religious freedom."

Families whose last name begins with A-K contact delegates 1-13.
Families whose last name begins with L-Z contact delegates 13-25.
Contact information is below:

1. Delegate Tim Miley - Judiciary Committee Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
Business Phone: (304) 326-1800
E-mail: tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

2. Delegate Mark Hunt - Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
Business Phone: (304) 344-1800
E-mail: mhunt@markahunt.com

3. Delegate John Ellem - Minority Committee Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
Business Phone: (304) 424-5297
E-mail: john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

4. Delegate Patrick Lane - Minority Committee Vice-Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
Business Phone: (304) 720-1497
E-mail: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

5. Delegate Larry Barker
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
Business Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

6. Delegate Bonnie Brown
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

7. Delegate Mike Caputo
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
Business Phone: (304) 363-7500
E-mail: mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

8. Delegate Michael Ferro
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
Business Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail: mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

9. Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
Business Phone: (304) 296-7035
E-mail: barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

10. Delegate John Frazier
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: jfrazier@mail.wvnet.edu

11. Delegate Linda Longstreth
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

12. Delegate Mike Manypenny
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
Business Phone: (304) 677-0379
E-mail: mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

13. Delegate Harold Michael
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
Business Phone: (304) 538-6881
E-mail: Harold@hardynet.com

14. Delegate Clif Moore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
Business Phone: (304) 436-8569
E-mail: clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

15. Delegate John Pino
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
Business Phone: N/A
E-mail: john.pino@wvhouse.gov

16. Delegate Meshea Poore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
Business Phone: (304) 720-0764
E-mail: meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

17. Delegate Doug Skaff Jr.
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
Business Phone: (304) 549-2171
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

18 Delegate Danny Wells
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

19. Delegate Troy Andes
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
Business Phone: (304) 369-8500
E-mail: troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

20. Delegate Bill Hamilton
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
Business Phone: (304) 472-1532
E-mail: bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

21. Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: woody.ireland@wvhouse.go

22. Delegate Carol Miller
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
Business Phone: (304) 697-6540
E-mail: carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

23. Delegate Jonathan Miller
24. Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
Business Phone: (304) 283-5975
E-mail: jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

24. Delegate John Overington
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
Business Phone: (304) 274-1791
E-mail: john@overington.com

25. Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
Business Phone: (304) 736-6655
E-mail: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

BACKGROUND

On June 25, 1997, by a 6-3 majority, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in
The City of Boerne v. Flores that the 1993 federal Religious Freedom
Restoration Act (RFRA) was unconstitutional. By doing this, the Court
gave the lowest level of protection to religious liberty. Under this
minimal standard, the state can override a citizen's right to freely
exercise his or her religious beliefs by simply proving that its
regulation is "reasonable." Since nearly all state regulations can be
determined to be "reasonable," religious freedom is exceedingly
limited.

If passed, the West Virginia RFRA would restore the standard of
protection for religious liberty previously guaranteed in the federal
RFRA and earlier Supreme Court decisions.

To view Mike Donnelly's complete testimony before the judiciary
committee last fall click here:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10178

For additional information, visit our issues library at:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10179

Or, view Heritage Communications of West Virginia's detailed analysis
here: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10180

HSLDA is working closely with the Christian Home Educators of West
Virginia (CHEWV) to support this legislation.

We are standing with you to defend your freedom!

Sincerely,

Michael P. Donnelly, Esq.
Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Can you call your attorney at 2 a.m. on Sunday morning?

Our members can get in touch with their attorney even after
business hours, when they have a legal emergency. Wouldn't you
like this level of service?

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1100

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================