From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

1/21/2011 5:01:36 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Iowa--Call to Protect Traditional Marriage

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Iowa--Call to Protect Traditional Marriage

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your help is urgently needed to reclaim marriage as we know it in
Iowa.

House Joint Resolution (HJR) 6, which would allow Iowans to vote to
put the time-honored definition of marriage into the Iowa
Constitution, is scheduled for a hearing Monday at 4:00 p.m.

In 2009, the activist Iowa Supreme Court ruled that Iowa's law
defining marriage as between one man and one woman was
unconstitutional, giving the green light to same-sex marriage. Iowans
promptly voted out three members of the Supreme Court, but the damage
was already done. As a result, Iowans must amend their constitution to
protect traditional marriage.

ACTION REQUESTED

If your representative is on the committee (see list below), please
call the House switchboard--(515) 281-3221--by Monday morning and
leave a message asking them to support HJR 6. Your message should be
in your own words, but it can be as simple as "Protect marriage as
honored by generations of Americans. Please support HJR 6. Marriage
as between one man and one woman is the foundation of our
civilization." Please email them as well, but call first.

BACKGROUND

Our right to teach our children at home is based, in part, on the
right of parents to direct the upbringing of their children. This
right rests in part on the nature of marriage itself as the union of
one man and one woman. Any attack on marriage will set in motion a
chain of events that may lead to the undermining of parental rights,
and ultimately the undermining of the right to educate one's own
children.

According to the United States Supreme Court in Troxel v. Granville,
parental rights are based on "western civilization concepts of the
family." One of those core concepts is that marriage is between one
man and one woman. If this core concept is abolished, the foundation
of parental rights is dramatically undercut.

Throughout the legislative session, January 10-April 29, HSLDA will
track additional legislation that might directly impact homeschooling.
We are keeping an eye on two bills now (HF 11 and HF 24) that impose
new content requirements (financial literacy and civics, respectively)
on public school students. If the bills are amended to impact
homeschoolers, we will alert you.

We are blessed to partner with the Network of Iowa Christian Home
Educators in the defense of freedom. We encourage homeschoolers to
support NICHE through membership and participation in their annual
statewide conference. To learn more about the NICHE and its coming
annual conference, visit http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10065 .

CONTACT INFORMATION

Use our legislative toolbox to find your representative and their
contact information:
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=10066

The committee membership is below:

Richard Anderson (R, District 97), Chair
chard.anderson@legis.state.ia.us

Kim Pearson (R, District 42), Vice Chair
Kim.Pearson@legis.state.ia.us

Kurt Swaim (D, District 94), Ranking Member
kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us

Dwayne Alons (R, District 4)
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us

Chip Baltimore (R, District 48)
Chip.Baltimore@legis.state.ia.us

Ruth Ann Gaines (D, District 65)
RuthAnn.Gaines@legis.state.ia.us

Julian Garrett (R, District 73)
Julian.Garrett@legis.state.ia.us

Chris Hagenow (R, District 59)
chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us

David E. Heaton (R, District 91)
dave.heaton@legis.state.ia.us

Jeff Kaufmann (R, District 79)
jeff.kaufmann@legis.state.ia.us

Vicki S. Lensing (D, District 78)
vicki.lensing@legis.state.ia.us

Glen Massie (R, District 74)
Glen.Massie@legis.state.ia.us

Jo Oldson (D, District 61)
jo.oldson@legis.state.ia.us

Rick Olson (D, District 68)
rick.olson@legis.state.ia.us

Tyler Olson (D, District 38)
tyler.olson@legis.state.ia.us

Walt Rogers (R, District 20)
Walt.Rogers@legis.state.ia.us

Mark D. Smith (D, District 43)
mark.smith@legis.state.ia.us

Jeremy Taylor (R, District 1)
Jeremy.Taylor@legis.state.ia.us

David A. Tjepkes (R, District 50)
david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us

Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D, District 45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.state.ia.us

Mary Wolfe (D, District 26)
Mary.Wolfe@legis.state.ia.

Thank you for standing with us for freedom!

Sincerely Yours,

Scott Woodruff
HSLDA Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Is customer service an art or a science?

For us, good customer service is both an art and a science
-it should appeal to our members and be effective. Consider what
our members say about us:

The freedom HSLDA allows me to have as I homeschool is wonderful!
They handle the law and I get to dedicate the time to my daughter.
- National City, CA

HSLDA members since 1993, our membership is just as important to
us as our children's curriculum. Thank you HSLDA for all you do on
our behalf! - West Valley, NY

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1941

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================