From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

4/29/2010 10:57:13 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Louisiana: Urgent--Act Now to Support Parental Right Resolution

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Louisiana: Urgent--Act Now to Support Parental Right Resolution

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

The Louisiana Senate will be considering Senate Concurrent Resolution
38 which urges the Congress of the United States to adopt the Parental
Rights Amendment. As many of you already know, the Parental Rights
Amendment would put into the text of the Constitution the principle
that parental rights are fundamental and can only be interfered with
by governmental officials in the least restrictive means possible. The
Parental Right Amendment would also protect against the UN Convention
on the Rights of the Child.

We need your calls and emails to the Louisiana Senate to help pass
this resolution. We understand that SCR 38 will be on the Senate floor
today, possibly at 9:30 this morning.

ACTION SUGGESTED:

Please contact your state senator in Baton Rouge at (225) 342-2040
(preferred), or email them at the addresses below--or both--and give
them this message in your own words:

"Please support the Parental Right Amendments Resolution and vote in
favor of SCR 38. While the U.S. Supreme Court has recognized in a long
line of cases that parents have a fundamental right to direct the
upbringing and education of their children, I believe we need to
recognize this right in the text of U.S. Constitution. Thank you for
your support of parental rights."

> Sen. A.G. Crowe, crowea@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Ann Duplessis, lasen2@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Jean-Paul J. Morrell, morrelljp@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Edwin R. Murray, murraye@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Karen Carter Peterson, petersonk@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Julie Quinn, quinnj@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. David Heitmeier, heitmeid@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. John A. Alario, Jr., alarioj@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Conrad Appel, appelc@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Danny Martiny, martinyd@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Jack Donahue, donahuej@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Ben Nevers, neversb@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Dale Erdey, erdeyd@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Yvonne Dorsey, dorseyy@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Sharon Weston Broome, lasen15@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Dan Claitor, claitord@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Rob Marionneaux, Jr., lasen17@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Jody Amedee, amedeej@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Joel Chaisson, II, websen@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Norby Chabert, chabertn@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Butch Gautreaux, lasen21@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Troy Hebert, hebertt@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Mike Michot, lasen23@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Elbert Guillory, guillorye@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Blade Morrish, morrishd@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Nick Gautreaux, gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Willie Mount, lasen27@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Eric LaFleur, lafleur@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Joe McPherson, lasen29@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. John R. Smith, smithj@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Gerald Long, longg@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Neil Riser, risern@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Mike Wlasworth, walsworthm@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Fancis Thompson, thompsof@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Bob Kostelka, kostelka@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Robert Adley, adleyr@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Buddy Shaw, shawb@legis.state.la.us
> Sen. Sherri Smith Cheek, smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

Senators are listed by district, Nos. 1-39. If you're not sure which
is yours, go to: http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=8193 . Please,
don't wait to call. Do it now. The vote could be held this morning,
and we need you to make your voice heard now!



Sincerely,

Thomas J. Schmidt
HSLDA Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> You can only do so much...

No one can be everywhere at once. And you can't be at home,
teaching your children, while monitoring your state's legislature.
Through electronic legislative services, HSLDA is monitoring state
legislation for you -- watching and listening carefully for any
proposed laws that could erode your right to homeschool.
Join HSLDA today-we'll watch out for your future.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1942

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================