From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/16/2009 10:20:14 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Arkansas: Calls Needed to Preserve Homeschool Freedom

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


March 10, 2009

Arkansas: Calls Needed to Preserve Homeschool Freedom

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Your calls and emails are needed to stop House Bill 2144, which would
require parents to obtain the PERMISSION of a school district
committee in order to begin homeschooling a child enrolled in public
school. How could this affect you as a parent who has no intention of
placing your child in public school in the first place? If you miss
the deadline for filing the annual notice of intent by even one day,
you would have to enroll your child in public school and then apply to
the committee for permission to withdraw your child for homeschooling.

Even worse, the committee may disapprove your application for any
reason or no reason at all and require your child to remain a public
school student for the rest of the semester.

House Bill 2144, sponsored by Representative David Cook (D80), would
also require parents to include "a copy of proof of the most recent
state-mandated achievement test" with the notice of intent. There are
no exceptions to this requirement, even if the student was ill,
injured, or unavailable to take the test for any reason, such as a
death in the immediate family. Parents not able to produce the proof
of testing would not meet the prerequisites for homeschooling and
would not be permitted to continue to teach their children at home.

This bill represents one of the most blatant attacks on homeschooling
we have ever seen. It must be stopped! But unless you express your
opposition to legislators, the powerful lobby of the public school
interests will likely prevail, and this bill will become law.

House Bill 2144 is now in the House Education Committee. Members of
the Committee need to hear from you today!

Action Requested:

1. Please call and/or email Representative David Cook and as many
other members of the House Education Committee as possible with this
message:

"Please vote against House Bill 2144, which threatens the right of
parents to choose homeschooling for their children. Parents whose
children are in public school would have to obtain permission to
homeschool from a school district committee that had unbridled
discretion to approve or disapprove the request. Homeschooling
parents whose child had missed standardized tests because of illness,
injury, or other unavoidable reasons would be forced to stop
homeschooling."

The members of the House Education Committee are as follows:

Last names beginning with A-M please contact:

Rep. Bill Abernathy (Chair)
(479) 234-2733
abernathyb@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Nancy Duffy Blount (Vice Chair)
(870) 295-4440
blount235@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Mark Martin
(479) 466-7386
martinm@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Rick Saunders
(501) 520-8813
saundersr@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. David Rainey
(870) 382-2003
raineyd@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. David Cook
(870) 966-4703
cookd@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Eddie Cheatham
(870) 364-5659
cheathame@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Toni Bradford
(870) 879-5270
bradfordt@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Donna Hutchinson
(479) 876-6011
hutchinsond@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Jerry Brown
(870) 238-3132
brownj@arkleg.state.ar.us

Last Names beginning with N-Z please contact:

Rep. Charlotte Wagner
(870) 561-4600
wagnerc@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Steven Breedlove
(479) 996-6040
breedloves@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Dan Greenberg
(501) 588-4245
rep.greenberg@gmail.com

Rep. Tim Summers
(479) 464-1060
summerst@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine
(479) 636-2619
carninel@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Mark Perry
(501) 982-4561
mperry@alltel.net

Rep. Linda Tyler
(501) 329-8644
tylerl@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Robert Dale
(479) 498-2467
redale70@yahoo.com

Rep. Monty Betts
(501) 268-9254
bettsm@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Jody Dickinson
(870) 523-8222

You can also leave a message for up to five members of The House
Education Committee by calling (501) 682-6211.

2. Please forward this email to every family you know who is not a
member of HSLDA and urge them to contact Representative Cook and other
members of the Committee.

To view the text of this bill, please go to
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2009/R/Bills/HB2144.pdf

Please call or email today!


Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Who are the nation's best lobbyists?

We don't know that this has ever been determined; but we do know
that HSLDA's National Center for Home Education is the only
national organization lobbying on behalf of homeschoolers on
Capitol Hill.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1102

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================