From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

6/10/2008 5:06:10 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
D.C: Emails Needed to Support Proposed Changes to Homeschool Regulations

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


June 10, 2008

District of Columbia: Emails Needed to Support
Proposed Changes to Homeschool Regulations

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

As the D.C. State Board of Education's vote on homeschooling
regulations approaches, several local homeschool leaders and HSLDA
Staff Attorney Mike Donnelly have written a joint letter requesting
specific changes to the proposed regulations. The SBOE and Office of
the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) need to know that you
support these changes being made before the vote on June 18.

ACTION REQUESTED

Go to http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=5222 and read the joint letter
by D.C. homeschool leaders and HSLDA Staff Attorney Mike Donnelly.
Then, email the following D.C. school officials and ask them to
incorporate the changes suggested in the letter:

Deborah Gist, State Superintendent of Education
Deborah.gist@dc.gov

Fonda Sutton, Director of Policy, Research, and Analysis
Fonda.sutton@dc.gov

Stephanie Thomas, Private/Home School Specialist
Stephanie.thomas@dc.gov

Robert Bobb, Elected Board Member
Robert.Bobb@dc.gov

William Lockridge, Elected Board Member
William.Lockridge@dc.gov

Lisa Raymond, Elected Board Member
Lisa.Raymond@dc.gov

Laura Slover, Appointed Board Member
Laura.Slover@dc.gov

Ted Trabue, Appointed Board Member
Ted.Trabue@dc.gov

Sekou Biddle, Elected Board Member
Sekou.biddle@dc.gov

Mary Lord, Elected Board Member
Mary.lord@dc.gov

Beverley Wheeler, Executive Director
Beverley.Wheeler@dc.gov


Thank you again for all your work to prevent restrictive homeschooling
regulations from passing in the District. This is a team effort, and
everyone's contribution is important. Let's keep persevering!

I look forward to seeing you at next week's SBOE public meeting (June
18).

Sincerely,


Michael P. Donnelly, Esq.
HSLDA Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Will your children's inheritance retain its value?

If you pass on a legacy of freedom, your children and their
children's children will thank you. But freedom is never secure;
it must always be guarded. Membership with HSLDA is an investment
in the future that can be passed on to future generations of
families wanting to teach their children at home.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1944

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================