From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/24/2008 3:16:41 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Michigan: Homeschool Freedom in Michigan under Attack!

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


March 24, 2008

Michigan: Homeschool Freedom in Michigan under Attack!

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends,

House Bill 5912 has been introduced. It would require all
homeschoolers to register with the local superintendent. The bill also
would require homeschoolers to turn in the names and ages of each
child who is being educated at home and the name and address of legal
guardians or parents doing the educating.

The bill has 24 co-sponsors, and the environment towards homeschoolers
in the House is very hostile. Many legislators came out against
homeschooling while they were discussing a bill which would require
the compulsory school attendance age to be lowered. They cited lack of
accountability as a need to regulate homeschoolers.

Therefore, we need to contact the sponsor and co-sponsors of this
legislation immediately to let them know that Michigan homeschoolers
do not need or want these types of restrictions.

REQUESTED ACTION

1. Contact the primary sponsor of H.B. 5912, Representative Brenda
Clack, and give her this message in your own words:

"Please withdraw H.B. 5912. Homeschooling is successful and working in
Michigan. Since it is not broken, it does not need to be fixed."

Contact information for Representative Clack:
Rep. Brenda Clack: 517-373-8808, brendaclack@house.mi.gov

2. Please call the co-sponsors of the bill and give them this message:

"Please withdraw your support for H.B. 5912. This bill infringes on
the freedom of parents to homeschool their children. Homeschooling is
successful and working well in Michigan. We have fought hard to be
free and want to remain this way."

We recommend that in addition to calling the assigned representatives,
that you also send an email to ALL 24 co-sponsors AND send a blind
copy to elerts@inch.org.

CO-SPONSORS OF H.B. 5912

If your last name begins with A-I, please call the following members:

Joan Bauer: 517-373-0826, joanbauer@house.mi.gov
Bob Constan: 517-373-0849, bobconstan@house.mi.gov
Marc Corriveau: 517-373-3816, marccorriveau@house.mi.gov
Robert Dean: 517-373-2668, robertdean@house.mi.gov
Kate Ebli: 517-373-2617, KateEbli@house.mi.gov
Barbara Farrah: 517-373-0845, barbarafarrah@house.mi.gov
Richard Hammel: 517-373-7557, richardhammel@house.mi.gov
Ted Hammon: 517-373-3906, tedhammon@house.mi.gov

If your last name begins with letters J-R, please call these members:

Shanelle Jackson: 517-373-1705, shanellejackson@house.mi.gov
Bert Johnson: 517-373-0144, bertjohnson@house.mi.gov
Robert Jones: 517-373-1785, robertjones@house.mi.gov
Kathleen Law: 517-373-0588, kathleenlaw@house.mi.gov
Richard LeBlanc: 517-373-2576, richardleblanc@house.mi.gov
Gabe Leland: 517-373-6990, gabeleland@house.mi.gov
Mark Meadows: 517-373-1786, markmeadows@house.mi.gov

If your last name begins with letters S-Z, please call these members:

Fred Miller: 517-373-0159, fredmiller@house.mi.gov
Gino Polidori: 517-373-0847, ginopolidori@house.mi.gov
Joel Sheltrown: 517-373-3817, joelsheltrown@house.mi.gov
Mike Simpson: 517-373-1775, mikesimpson@house.mi.gov
Alma Smith: 517-373-1771, almasmith@house.mi.gov
Virgil Smith: 517-373-0589, virgilsmith@house.mi.gov
Aldo Vagnozzi: 517-373-1793, aldovagnozzi@house.mi.gov
Lisa Wojno: 517-373-2275, lisawojno@house.mi.gov

BACKGROUND

To view the text of this bill, go to
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=4929 .

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Klicka
HSLDA Senior Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> "I saved my entire membership fee with one discount"

"We've been a Liberty Mutual customer for over 12 years. We
called and asked about our HSLDA member discount and they lowered
our premium by approx $95 per year...coincidentally the same
amount as our HSLDA annual membership fee. Thought you'd want to
know!!'"

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1107

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================