From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/15/2008 5:05:52 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Michigan: Help Needed to Stop Expansion of State Control Over Children

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Michigan: Help Needed to Stop Expansion of State Control Over Children

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

Thank you for all of your calls and emails to stop expansion of the
compulsory school attendance age. We asked for your help to fight H.B.
4042, which would raise the age of compulsory attendance from age 16
to 18, and you answered! Another bill to expand compulsory attendance,
H.B. 4662, is now on the move, which would lower the age of compulsory
attendance from age 6 to only 5 years old.

If H.B. 4662 becomes law, homeschoolers will be under the authority of
the school district for an additional year. Call now to prevent
government control of our children.

The House Education Committee is scheduled to hear the bill on
Tuesday, February 19. Please call and email the members of the
committee before that time. We are working closely with INCH and
legislative staff.

REQUESTED ACTION

Please call immediately as many members of the House Education
Committee as possible. You can give them this message:

"Please vote against H.B. 4662, which lowers the compulsory attendance
age to age 5 and mandates kindergarten. This bill is unnecessary,
restricts parental choice and wastes taxpayers' money since there is
no study showing any long-term positive benefits from children
attending school early."

Do not identify yourself as a homeschooler.

Also please send a short email opposing H.B. 4042 and forward to ALL
the committee members AND a blind copy to elert@inch.org , so we can
keep track of the number of responses for lobbying purposes.

HOUSE EDUCATION MEMBERS:

If your last name begins with A-I, please call the following members:

Minority Vice Chair John Moolenaar (R), 517-373-1791,
johnmoolenaar@house.mi.gov
Marc R. Corriveau (D), 517-373-3816, marccorriveau@house.mi.gov
Andy Meisner (D), 517-373-0478, andymeisner@house.mi.gov
Robert Dean (D), 517-373-2668, robertdean@house.mi.gov
Judy Emmons (R), 517-373-0834, judyemmons@house.mi.gov
Dave Hildenbrand (R), 517-373-0846, rephildenbrand@house.mi.gov
Tonya Schuitmaker (R), 517-373-0839, tonyaschuitmaker@house.mi.gov
Paul E. Opsommer (R), 517-373-1778, paulopsommer@house.mi.gov

If your last name begins with letters J-R, please call these members:

Marty Knollenberg (R), 517-373-1783, martyknollenberg@house.mi.gov
Chair Tim Melton (D), 517-373-0475, timmelton@house.mi.gov
Kathy Angerer (D), 517-373-1792, kathyangerer@house.mi.gov
Terry L. Brown (D), 517-373-0476, terrybrown@house.mi.gov
Barb Byrum (D), 517-373-0587, barbbyrum@house.mi.gov
Brenda Clack (D), 517-373-8808, brendaclack@house.mi.gov
Jacob Hoogendyk (R), 517-373-1774, jackhoogendyk@house.mi.gov
Glenn Steil, Jr. (R), 517-373-0840, glennsteil@house.mi.gov

If your last name begins with letters S-Z, please call these members:

Vice-Chair Mary Valentine (D), 517-373-3436,
maryvalentine@house.mi.gov
Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D), 517-373-0852, hoon-yunghopgood@house.mi.gov
Steven Lindberg (D), 517-373-0498, stevenlindberg@house.mi.gov
Fred Miller (D), 517-373-0159, fredmiller@house.mi.gov
Tom Pearce (R), 517-373-0218, tompearce@house.mi.gov
Gino Polidori (D), 517-373-0847, ginopolidori@house.mi.gov
Bettie Cook Scott (D), 517-373-1776, bettiecookscott@house.mi.gov

BACKGROUND
> According to the 2005 NAEP test scores, children from states that
have low compulsory attendance ages (5-6) did not score any higher
than children from the other states, and in some subjects their
average was actually lower.

> Many education experts have concluded that beginning a child's
formal education too early may actually result in burnout and poor
scholastic performance later.

> A report published February 6, 2007 by the Goldwater Institute
examines Stanford 9 test scores and finds Arizona kindergarten
programs initially improve learning but have no measurable impact on
reading, math, or language arts test scores by fifth grade.

The data show that students in schools with all-day kindergarten
programs have statistically significant higher 3rd-grade test scores,
but there is no impact on fifth-grade scores. This finding is
consistent with previous research. Forcing children into school early
delivers short-term benefits at best.

> Another significant impact of expanding the mandatory schooling is
the inevitable tax increase to pay for more classroom space and
teachers to accommodate the additional students compelled to attend
public schools. When California raised the upper age limit of
compulsory attendance, unwilling students were so disruptive that new
schools had to be built just to handle them and their behavior
problems, all at the expense of the taxpayer.

For more information on compulsory attendance, please see our
memorandum at
http://www.hslda.org/docs/nche/Issues/E/Early_Education.asp

Thank you for standing with us in this fight for freedom.

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Can you look at the clouds and tell the direction of the wind?

An interesting phenomenon of wind is that it can blow in multiple
directions at the same time, at different heights from the ground.
But usually there is a prevailing wind. HSLDA watches the gusts
and monitors the prevailing trends of change in the legal climate
of home education. So no matter which way the wind is blowing,
we're there to protect your family.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1938

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================