From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

4/11/2007 5:01:28 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Michigan: Urgent! Calls Needed for Thursday Hearing

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


April 11, 2007

Michigan: Urgent! Calls Needed for Thursday Hearing

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends in Michigan,

It has finally happened! H.B. 4042 is beginning to move. This bill
will expand government control over your homeschool child another two
years.

House Bill 4042 will raise the age of compulsory attendance from where
it is currently at age 16 to age 18. It is one of the major themes of
Governor Jennifer M. Granholm's agenda for this legislative session.

If enough calls come into the committee, we could stop this bill
before it even gets started. Since there are so many House Education
Committee members, we thought it would be best to split the calls
according to the first letter of your last name. We urge everyone to
call the chairman of the committee, as well as at least seven members,
as divided below.

We are working closely with INCH, legislative staff, and the Home
School Legislative Action Committee.

REQUESTED ACTION:

Please call or email specified members of the House Education
Committee and give them this message:

"Please oppose H.B. 4042. Please oppose any effort to raise the age of
compulsory school attendance. It only serves as a waste of taxpayer's
money; it would force unwilling, disruptive students into the
classroom."

You do not need to reveal that you homeschool--just that you are a
concerned parent and taxpayer.

HOUSE EDUCATION MEMBERS:

Chair Tim Melton (D), 517-373-0475, timmelton@house.mi.gov

Those with the last name beginning with the letters A through G:

Vice-Chair Mary Valentine (D), 517-373-3436,
maryvalentine@house.mi.gov
Kathy Angerer (D), 517-373-1792, kathyangerer@house.mi.gov
Terry L. Brown (D), 517-373-0476, terrybrown@house.mi.gov
Barb Byrum (D), 517-373-0587, barbbyrum@house.mi.gov
Brenda Clack (D), 517-373-8808, brendaclack@house.mi.gov
Marc R. Corriveau (D), 517-373-3816, marccorriveau@house.mi.gov
Robert Dean (D), 517-373-2668, robertdean@house.mi.gov

Those with the last name beginning with the letters H through N:

Judy Emmons (R), 517-373-0834, judyemmons@house.mi.gov
Jacob Hoogendyk (R), 517-373-1774, jackhoogendyk@house.mi.gov
Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D), 517-373-0852, hoon-yunghopgood@house.mi.gov
Marty Knollenberg (R), 517-373-1783, martyknollenberg@house.mi.gov
Steven Lindberg (D), 517-373-0498, stevenlindberg@house.mi.gov
Andy Meisner (D), 517-373-0478, andymeisner@house.mi.gov
John Moolenaar (R), 517-373-1791, johnmoolenaar@house.mi.gov

Those with the last name beginning with the letters O through Z:

Fred Miller (D), 517-373-0159, fredmiller@house.mi.gov
Paul E. Opsommer (R), 517-373-1778, paulopsommer@house.mi.gov
Gino Polidori (D), 517-373-0847, ginopolidori@house.mi.gov
Tom Pearce (R), 517-373-0218, tompearce@house.mi.gov
Bettie Cook Scott (D), 517-373-1776, bettiecookscott@house.mi.gov
Glenn Steil Jr. (R), 517-373-0840, glennsteil@house.mi.gov
Dave Hildenbrand (R), 517-373-0846, rephildenbrand@house.mi.gov
Tonya Schuitmaker (R), 517-373-0839, tonyaschuitmaker@house.mi.gov

BACKGROUND:

> Raising the compulsory attendance age from 16 to 18 would subject
home educators to the requirements of the homeschool statute two years
later than now required. (You do not need to share this reason with
your legislators.)

> Raising the compulsory attendance age will not reduce the dropout
rate. In fact, the two states with the highest high school completion
rates, Maryland at 94.5% and North Dakota at 94.7%, compel attendance
only to age 16. The state with the lowest completion rate (Oregon:
75.4%) compels attendance to age 18. (Figures are three-year averages,
1996 through 1998.)

> Twenty-nine states only require attendance to age 16. Older children
unwilling to learn can cause classroom disruptions and even violence,
making learning harder for their classmates who truly want to learn.

> It would restrict parents' freedom to decide if their 16-year-old is
ready for college or the workforce. (Some 16-year-olds who are not
academically inclined benefit more from valuable work experience than
from being forced to sit in a classroom.

> Another significant impact of expanding the compulsory attendance
age would be an inevitable tax increase to pay for more classroom
space and teachers to accommodate the additional students compelled to
attend public schools. When California raised the upper age limit of
compulsory attendance, unwilling students were so disruptive that new
schools had to be built just to handle them and their behavior
problems, all at the expense of the taxpayer.

For more information on compulsory attendance, please see our
memorandum at
http://www.hslda.org/docs/nche/Issues/E/Early_Education.asp

Thanks for taking the time to call or email!

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Who are the nation's best lobbyists?

We don't know that this has ever been determined; but we do know
that HSLDA's National Center for Home Education is the only
national organization lobbying on behalf of homeschoolers on
Capitol Hill.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1102

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================