From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/23/2007 12:12:17 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Michigan: Calls Needed to Oppose Expansion of State Control Over Education

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


March 22, 2007

Michigan: Calls Needed to Oppose Expansion of State Control Over
Education

Dear HSLDA members and friends in Michigan,

Three bills currently in the Michigan Legislature would expand the age
of compulsory attendance for children in the state by an additional
three years. This means three more years for public school officials
to have authority over homeschoolers!

Senate Bill 162 would lower the compulsory attendance age from 6 to 5.
It would also make kindergarten mandatory. Senate Bill 11 and House
Bill 4042 would raise the age of compulsory attendance from where it
is currently at age 16 to age 18.

Unfortunately, these bills have continued to gain popularity. In fact,
some Republicans have come out in support of them. We need your calls
and emails to let the Education Committee members know that you oppose
this expansion of state control.

We are working closely with INCH, legislative staff, and the Home
School Legislative Action Committee.

REQUESTED ACTION:

1. Please call or email, over the next two weeks, as many members as
you can of the House Education Committee and give them this message:

"Please oppose H.B. 4042. Please oppose any effort to raise the age of
compulsory school attendance. It only serves as a waste of taxpayers'
money; it would force unwilling, disruptive students into the
classroom."

You do not need to identify that you homeschool--just that you are a
concerned parent and taxpayer.

HOUSE EDUCATION MEMBERS:

Tim Melton (D), Committee Chair, 517-373-0475, timmelton@house.mi.gov
Mary Valentine (D), Majority Vice-Chair, 517-373-3436,
maryvalentine@house.mi.gov
Kathy Angerer (D), 517-373-1792, kathyangerer@house.mi.gov
Terry L. Brown (D), 517-373-0476, terrybrown@house.mi.gov
Barb Byrum (D), 517-373-0587, barbbyrum@house.mi.gov
Brenda Clack (D), 517-373-8808, brendaclack@house.mi.gov
Marc R. Corriveau (D), 517-373-3816, marccorriveau@house.mi.gov
Robert Dean (D), 517-373-2668, robertdean@house.mi.gov
Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D), 517-373-0852, hoon-yunghopgood@house.mi.gov
Steven Lindberg (D), 517-373-0498, stevenlindberg@house.mi.gov
Andy Meisner (D), 517-373-0478, andymeisner@house.mi.gov
Fred Miller (D), 517-373-0159, fredmiller@house.mi.gov
Gino Polidori (D), 517-373-0847, ginopolidori@house.mi.gov
Bettie Cook Scott (D), 517-373-1776, bettiecookscott@house.mi.gov
John Moolenaar (R), Minority Vice-Chair, 517-373-1791,
johnmoolenaar@house.mi.gov
Judy Emmons (R), 517-373-0834, judyemmons@house.mi.gov
Jacob Hoogendyk (R), 517-373-1774, jackhoogendyk@house.mi.gov
Glenn Steil Jr. (R), 517-373-0840, glennsteil@house.mi.gov
Tom Pearce (R), 517-373-0218, tompearce@house.mi.gov
Dave Hildenbrand (R), 517-373-0846, rephildenbrand@house.mi.gov
Tonya Schuitmaker (R), 517-373-0839, tonyaschuitmaker@house.mi.gov
Marty Knollenberg (R), 517-373-1783, martyknollenberg@house.mi.gov
Paul E. Opsommer (R), 517-373-1778, paulopsommer@house.mi.gov

2. Please call or email the members of the Senate Education Committee
and give them this message:

"Please oppose S.B. 11 and S.B. 162. By expanding the age of
compulsory attendance, these bills take from the parents the ability
to choose what is best for their child. Government involvement at a
young age is an ineffective substitute to parental care. On the other
end, parents are not able to choose work or an educational option for
their teenager. Finally, this bill will waste taxpayer dollars by
forcing more children into school even though there may be a better
alternative open to them."

You do not need to identify that you homeschool--just that you are a
concerned parent and taxpayer.

SENATE EDUCATION MEMBERS:

Gerald Vanwoerkom, (517) 373-1635, sengvanwoerkom@senate.michigan.gov
Nancy Cassis, (517) 373-1758, senncassis@senate.michigan.gov
Gretchen Whitmer, 517-373-1734, SenGWhitmer@senate.michigan.gov
John Gleason, 517-373-0142, SenJGleason@senate.michigan.gov

BACKGROUND:

For more information on compulsory attendance legislation please go to
our website at
http://www.hslda.org/docs/nche/Issues/E/Early_Education.asp.

Thanks for taking the time to call or email!

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Will your children's inheritance retain its value?

If you pass on a legacy of freedom, your children and their
children's children will thank you. But freedom is never secure;
it must always be guarded. Membership with HSLDA is an investment
in the future that can be passed on to future generations of
families wanting to teach their children at home.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1944

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================