From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/16/2007 1:08:46 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
North Dakota--Update on Homeschool Bill

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


February 16, 2007

North Dakota--Update on Homeschool Bill

Dear HSLDA members and friends:

Good news! Senate Bill 2371, which started off as a good bill, then
was amended to become a bad bill, has become a good bill again and has
passed the North Dakota Senate.

Here's what happened. Thanks to your outcry to senators about the
unfavorable changes to testing in the first amended version, on
Wednesday the Senate passed only the part of the bill permitting
grandparents to homeschool and voted down the rest of the bill
containing the changes in testing.

This bill now goes to the House of Representatives for consideration.
First stop will be the House Education Committee. Contact members of
this committee to let them know you want this change in the homeschool
law.

Requested Action:

1. Please call and write your own state representative and as many
members of the House Education Committee as possible and urge them to
vote in favor of Senate Bill 2371 with this message:

"Please vote in favor of Senate Bill 2371, which would permit
grandparents to homeschool their grandchildren."

The contact information for the members of the House Education
Committee is as follows:

Rep. RaeAnn G. Kelsch, (R) - Chairman
(701) 663-0774
E-mail: rkelsch@nd.gov

Rep. Lisa Meier, (R) - Vice Chairman
(701) 255-4166
E-mail: lmeier@nd.gov

Rep. C. B. Haas, (R)
(701) 974-3738
E-mail: chaas@nd.gov

Rep. Lyle Hanson, (D)
(701) 252-4129
E-mail: lhanson@nd.gov

Rep. Gil Herbel, (R)
(701) 352-2294
E-mail: gherbel@nd.gov

Rep. Bob Hunksor, (D)
(701) 272-6283
E-mail: bhunskor@nd.gov

Rep. Dennis Johnson, (R)
No phone number available
E-mail: djohnson@nd.gov

Rep. Karen Karls, (R)
(701) 258-6836
E-mail: kkarls@nd.gov

Rep. Philip Mueller, (D)
(701) 845-2737
E-mail: pmueller@nd.gov

Rep. Lee Myxter, (D)
(701) 293-9778
E-mail: lmyxter@nd.gov

Rep. Dorvan Solberg, (D)
(701) 568-3614
E-mail: dsolberg@nd.gov

Rep. Gary Sukut, (R)
(701) 572-9607
E-mail: gsukut@nd.gov

Rep. John Wall, (R)
(701) 642-2103
E-mail: jwall@nd.gov

You can find the name and telephone number of your state
representative by using HSLDA's Legislative Toolbox at
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=3760

2. Please forward this e-mail to every homeschooling family you know
who is not a member of HSLDA and urge them to contact their state
representative and members of the House Education Committee.

To view a copy of the text of Senate Bill 2371, go to
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=3761

Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> What do you look like when you get out of bed?

It's hard to look our best all the time. HSLDA works to present
homeschooling in an engaging, dynamic, and informative light to
the public news media.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1104

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================