From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

8/4/2006 9:20:12 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Wyoming--Help Preserve Homeschool Freedom!

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


Wyoming--Help Preserve Homeschool Freedom!

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends:

The Wyoming primaries will be held on Tuesday, August 22. Most of the
incumbent legislators have gotten to know the homeschooling community
over the years, but there are a lot of new candidates who may never
have met a homeschooler. You have the perfect opportunity, over the
next few weeks, to present homeschooling to them in a positive light.
If these candidates get to know your family before they get elected,
they'll be better prepared to protect your liberty after Election Day.

The Wyoming Family Coalition sent a questionnaire to each candidate
for the Wyoming House and Senate and posted the results at
http://www.wyfamily.org/vote.asp. HSLDA has sorted through these
results to find the candidates who say they want to impose mandatory
testing on homeschoolers. We encourage you to contact such candidates
in your local area to find out why they want to impose new
requirements on families that are producing solid educational results
without costing the taxpayers anything.

Candidates who support testing homeschoolers include:

HD21 (R) Robert McKim, Afton
(307) 885-3733 dynopup@hotmail.com

HD40 (R) Mike Madden, Buffalo
(307) 684-9356 madden@wyoming.com

HD37 (R) Nick Mandis, Casper
(307) 262-3863 nickmandis@msn.com

HD41 (D) Ken A. Esquibel, Cheyenne
(307) 630-6096 kenesqdem41@peoplepc.com

SD05 (R) John C. Bishop, Cheyenne
(307) 778-0579 NONE

SD05 (R) Larry Shippy, Cheyenne
(307) 634-0706 shippyhome@bresnan.net

HD07 (R) Dick Atkins, Cheyenne
(307) 638-8017 datkins@wslc.com

HD11 (R) Roman Hildt, Cheyenne
(307) 630-9472 roman@roman4wyoming.com

HD44 (R) David McCleary, Cheyenne
(307) 214-5918 NONE

SD19 (R) R. Ray Peterson, Cowley
(307) 548-6405 ray@officeshopinc.com

HD47 (R) "Jeb" Steward, Encampment
(307) 327-5116 NONE

HD32 (D) Duffy Jenniges, Gillette
(307) 686-2623 aaduffy@vcn.com

HD32 (R) Timothy P. Hallinan, Gillette
(307) 686-6542 tphallinan@bresnan.net

HD20 (R) Kathy Davison, Kemmerer
(307) 877-6483 NONE

SD03 (D) "Sherri" Lovercheck, Lagrange
(307) 834-2492, sherri@beartracts.com

HD05 (R) Matt Teeters Lingle
(307) 534-6772 teeters4house@hotmail.com

HD26 (R) Elaine D. Harvey, Lovell
(307) 548-7866 harvey00@tctwest.net

HD18 (R) Allen Jaggi, Lyman
(307) 786-2817 jaggia@union-tel.com

HD19 (R) Owen Petersen, Mtn. View
(307) 782-6378 opetersen@wyoming.com

HD15 (R) Bob Taylor, Rawlins
(307) 324-6419 bobtaylor@whataboutbobtaylor.com

HD18 (R) Jim Geeting, Rock Springs
(307) 321-1333 jim@jimgeeting.com

SD03 (D) Chris Shoults, Torrington
(307) 534-5708 cshoults@netcommander.com

SD03 (R) Lloyd W. Peterson, Torrington
(307) 532-2586 folks@prairieweb.com

HD05 (R) Jeff Marsh, Torrington
(307) 532-7919 jsmarsh@ft.newyorklife.com

There is some encouraging news, however--a number of candidates
expressed their firm opposition to any such testing. Feel free to
email them (whether you are in their district or not!) to thank them
for their support.

Candidates who oppose homeschool testing include:

HD10 (D) Jana H. Ginter, Carpenter
(307) 649-2422 ginternetj@purecode.com

SD27 (R) John Barrasso, Casper
(307) 577-1542 barrasso@wyoming.com

SD29 (R) Drew A. Perkins, Casper
(307) 234-1274 dap@wylaw.net

HD38 (R) Bob Brechtel, Casper
(307) 237-3174 bbrechtel@house.wyoming.com

HD12 (R) Amy L. Edmonds, Cheyenne
(307) 632-5139 edmondsforhouse@msn.com

HD12 (R) Dino Moncecchi, Cheyenne
(307) 634-6957 sparmgmt@sisna.com

HD47 (D) Bob Jackson, Encampment
(307) 327-5123 BJackson1352003@yahoo.com

SD17 (R) Peter Moyer, Jackson
(307) 733-7795 pmoyer@wyoming.com

SD03 (R) Curt Meier, Lagrange
(307) 834-2447 cmeier@actcom.net

HD05 (R) Roseanna Davison, Lingle
(307) 837-2955 rdavison@plt2.k12.wy.us

HD01 (R) Mark A. Semlek, Moorcroft
(307) 756-9294 msemlek@wyoming.com

HD10 (R) "Pete" Anderson, Pine Bluffs
(307) 245-3489 randerso@wyoming.com

HD29 (R) Jerry Iekel, Sheridan
(307) 672-2057 jiekel@wyoming.com

HD28 (R) Lorraine Quarberg, Thermopolis
(307) 864-2221 lq@wyoming.com

HD03 (R) Deborah Alden, Wheatland
(307) 322-9187 NONE

HD52 (R) Calvin Twiford, Wright
(307) 464-0534 ctwiford@vcn.com

Remember--just one or two phone calls before the primary can change a
candidate's attitude completely. Polls show that most people now
support the right to homeschool, but the average American thinks they
ought to take the same tests as children in the public schools. The
problem with that reasoning, however, is that the public schools are
tested to find out whether our tax dollars are being spent wisely.
Homeschoolers don't depend on taxes, so they don't deserve tests!

Homeschooling families that aren't asking for government dollars don't
need government strings. Most candidates for the Legislature can
understand this reasoning if you take the time to explain it to them.

Sincerely,

Scott Somerville
HSLDA Staff Attorney

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Can you look at the clouds and tell the direction of the wind?

An interesting phenomenon of wind is that it can blow in multiple
directions at the same time, at different heights from the ground.
But usually there is a prevailing wind. HSLDA watches the gusts
and monitors the prevailing trends of change in the legal climate
of home education. So no matter which way the wind is blowing,
we're there to protect your family.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1938

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================