From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

3/13/2006 11:25:57 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Connecticut--Calls Needed to Stop Change in Compulsory Attendance Law

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


March 13, 2006

Connecticut--Calls Needed to Stop Change in Compulsory Attendance Law

Dear HSLDA members and friends:

Your calls are needed this morning to members of the Joint Education
Committee to stop a bill that would restrict who may conduct home
instruction in Connecticut. Current law permits any person having
control of a child to make educational decisions for a child,
including the decision to teach the child at home, but Raised Bill No.
634 would limit this to parents or guardians. This means that
grandparents and other relatives of a child would not be permitted to
homeschool a child unless they were appointed legal guardians by court
order.

There is a hearing today at 1 p.m. by the Joint Education Committee to
consider this bill. Please call right now to express your opposition
to this unnecessary and restrictive change in Connecticut law.

Action Requested:

1. Please call the Chairman and as many members of the Joint Education
Committee as possible with this message:

"Please vote against Raised Bill No. 634 which would restrict
educational decisions for children to just parents and legal
guardians. This would eliminate grandparents and other relatives from
undertaking educational responsibilities for children whose parents
may be unable to do so.

Please do not identify yourself as a homeschooling family, since this
issue is broader than just homeschooling.

The contact information for members of the Joint Education Committee
is as follows:

Sen. Thomas P. Gaffey, Co-Chair (D)
(860) 240-0425
Gaffey@senatedems.ct.gov

Rep. Andrew Fleischmann, Co-Chair (D)
(860) 240-0420
Andrew.Fleischmann@cga.ct.gov

Sen. John Fonfara, Vice Chair (D)
860-240-0043
Fonfara@senatedems.ct.gov

Rep. Felipe Reinoso, Vice Chair (D)
(860) 240-8585
Felipe.Reinoso@cga.ct.gov

Sen. Thomas Herlihy, Ranking Member (R)
(860) 240-0436
Thomas.Herlihy@cga.ct.gov

Rep. David Labriola, Ranking Member (R)
(860) 240-8700
David.Labriola@housegop.state.ct.us

Rep. Catherine Abercrombie (D)
(860) 240-8585
Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Antonietta Boucher (R)
(800) 842-1423
Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Michael Cardin (D)
(860) 240-8488
Michaeljcardin@comcast.NET

Rep. Charles Clemons (D)
(860) 240-8585
Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Paul Davis (D)
(860) 240-8585
Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov

Sen. Bill Finch (D)
(860) 240-0447
Finch@senatedems.ct.gov

Rep. Mary Fritz (D)
(860) 240-8500
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Henry Genga (D)
(860) 240-8585
henry.genga@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Linda Gentile (D)
(860) 240-8585
Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Marilyn Giuliano (R)
(860) 240-8700
Marilyn.Giuliano@housegop.state.ct.us

Rep. Gail Hamm (D)
(860) 240-8585
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Robert Heagney (R)
(800) 842-1423
Robert.Heagney@housegop.state.ct.us

Rep. Deborah Heinrich (D)
(860) 240-8585
Deborah.Heinrich@cga.ct.gov

Rep. DebraLee Hovey (R)
(860) 240-8700
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.state.ct.us

Rep. Themis Klarides (R)
(800) 842-1423
Themis.Klarides@housegop.state.ct.us

Sen. Andrew McDonald (D)
(800) 842-1420
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

Rep. Steven Mikutel (D)
(860) 240-8585
Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Tim O'Brien (D)
No phone number listed
tim.obrien@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Tom Reynolds (D)
(860) 240-8585
Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

Sen. Andrew Roraback (R)
(800) 842-1421
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Pamela Sawyer (R)
(860) 240-8700
Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.state.ct.us

Rep. Jim Shapiro (D)
(860) 240-8531
Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Lewis Wallace (D)
(860) 240-0550
Lew.Wallace@cga.ct.gov

Rep. Kevin Witkos
(860) 240-8700
Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

2. Please forward this email to every homeschooling family you know
who is not a member of HSLDA and urge them to contact their state
representatives with this same message.

To view the text of Raised Bill No. 634, please visit
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2006/TOB/s/pdf/2006SB-00634-R00-SB.pdf

Sincerely,

Dewitt T. Black, III
HSLDA Senior Counsel

----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Remember the last time you wrote a term paper?

Research can be grueling-digging through archives, wading through
articles, conducting interviews. But if it's related to
homeschooling, you can relax a little. There's a good chance that
you'll find what you're looking for in HSLDA's bimonthly
Home School Court Report. Providing in-depth, insightful articles
on much of what affects the world of homeschoolers, the
Court Report is a must-read for the serious homeschooler. This
publication is provided free to each HSLDA member.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1933

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

##ToAddress##

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================