From the HSLDA E-lert Service:


3/9/2005 11:47:57 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Colorado--Calls Needed Today to Save Parent-Taught Driver's Education Bill

From the HSLDA E-lert Service...

March 9, 2005

Colorado--Calls Needed Today to Save Parent-Taught Driver's Education

Dear HSLDA members and friends:

Calls are needed now to save House Bill 1235, which will make it
possible for your 15 year-old homeschooled student to more easily
obtain a driver's permit.

HB 1235 will require the Department of Revenue to allow you to use
parent-taught driver's education programs to complete a 4 hour
required course necessary for your 15 year-old to obtain a learner's

The bill is scheduled to be heard by the House Transportation and
Energy Committee again TODAY (March 9th) at 1:30 pm.

HB 1235 will amend the law to clarify that parents can teach their
child the 4-hour prequalification driver's education course in the
home rather than go to a public school.

This bill will increase freedom for any parent who wishes to be
directly involved with their child's driving instruction.

The committee members need to hear from you now. Partisan politics may
overwhelm this common sense bill if you do not call.


Please call as many members of the House Transportation and Energy
Committee as you can and give them this message:

"Please vote yes on House Bill 1235. This bill will benefit families
and allow parents to be more involved in their child's drivers
training. This bill helps 15 year-olds be better drivers. Please do
not let partisan politics defeat this common sense bill."

House Transportation and Energy Committee:

Representative Jack Pommer, Chairman

Representative Liane McFadyen, Vice-Chair

Representative Alice Borodkin

Representative Bill Cadman

Representative Gwyn Green

Representative Lynn Hefly

Representative Matt Knoedler

Representative Mark Larson

Representative Gary Lindstrom

Representative Ann Ragsdale

Representative Jim Welker


Last year a Colorado bill was passed into law that permitted teens to
obtain a learners permit at age 15 years 6 months if they enroll in a
"4-Hour Prequalification Driver Awareness Program" approved by the
Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Division. Teens can then
receive a full driver's license at age 16 years and 6 months.

Unfortunately, the officials at the Department decided to change a
good law into a bad law. Despite assurances to homeschool leaders that
parent-taught driver's education programs would be approved to teach
the 4-hour prequalification course, the Department announced that only
one program (taught outside the home) is approved. The Department has
stated that the 4-hour required prequalification course CANNOT be
completed at home.

Wayne Tulley of the National Driver's Training Institute and Chris
Klicka of HSLDA met with the Department of Revenue in Denver for 2
hours last June, but the Department refused to change its policy. They
will not allow parent taught driver's education programs to teach the
4-hour prequalification course.

The legislative intent of the law passed last year allowed for ALL
driver education companies to create the new 4-hour prequalification
course, provided the Department approves their curriculum. Also, it is
very important to thousands of families in Colorado to be able to
complete the new 4-hour course from home via a manual, CD, or on-line
instead of having to take the course in the setting of a public

Wayne Tully of National Driver Training
Institute-NDTI (who testified and helped craft the language) and HSLDA
was assured by the House of Representatives, the State Senate, and
the Department that we would have several programs to choose from and
our teenagers would be able to complete the course from home.

In a letter dated June 7, 2004 (from Michael Tibbits, CDL Compliance
Manager for the Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Business Group),
Mr. Tibbits withdrew the prior approval of NDTI's 4-hour
prequalification course and approved only the 4-hour prequalification
course of the National Safety Council. This action is contrary to the
legislation enacted by the Colorado legislature and is arbitrary and

It was also disclosed by M. Michael Cooke, Executive Director,
Department of Revenue that she would not allow home study or on-line
programs to be used for the 4-hour prequalification course. No reason
has been given for this denial.

What does this mean for you?

Today, if you choose to obtain a permit for your teen after age 15 and
6 months, and you do not want to or cannot pay for a full driver
education course, you must complete the 4-hour prequalification course
offered by the National Safety Council. You will not be allowed to
complete this program from your home and you must attend a public
classroom in order to complete the program.

Thank you for your willingness to be involved.


Christopher J. Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel

-> How many of your friends would pay your legal fees?

As a member of HSLDA, you have 80,000 families standing with you
to protect and advance homeschool freedoms in the United States
and foreign countries.

More reasons to join HSLDA...

The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733

How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:


- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address; is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at Thank you for your cooperation.