From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/9/2005 2:49:04 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Virginia--Calls Needed to Support $250 Tax Deduction for Homeschooling

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


February 8, 2005


Virginia--Calls Needed to Support $250 Tax Deduction for Homeschooling


Dear HSLDA members and friends,

Senator Russ Potts has introduced Senate Bill 1239, which allows
homeschool parents to take a $250 tax deduction for homeschool
expenses on their Virginia income tax.

The Senate voted to pass the bill unanimously on February 4, and it is
now being considered by the House Finance Committee. We need your
calls in order to pass this bill in the House Finance Committee.

Introduced by Delegate Chris Saxman, the $1,200 tax credit contained
in House Bill 1942 was transformed in the House Finance Committee last
week. The bill no longer applies to homeschooling. It has become a
pilot project for three struggling school districts. Consequently, we
no longer support this bill.

The only remaining tax relief for homeschoolers is the $250 tax
deduction in SB 1239.


ACTION REQUESTED

Please call the members of the House Finance Committee and give them
this message:

"Please support Senate Bill 1239. This will benefit parents and
children and promote education in our commonwealth. Parents deserve a
tax break for educational expenses."

House Finance Committee Members:

Del. Purkey
(804) 698-1082
email: Del_Purkey@house.state.va.us

Del. Orrock
(804) 698-1054
email: Del_Orrock@house.state.va.us

Del. Louderback
(804) 698-1015
email: Del_Louderback@house.state.va.us

Del. Welch
(804) 698-1021
email: Del_Welch@house.state.va.us

Del. Nixon
(804) 698-1027
email: Del_Nixon@house.state.va.us

Del. Byron
(804) 698-1022
email: Del_Byron@house.state.va.us

Del. O'Bannon
(804) 698-1073
email: Del_OBannon@house.state.va.us

Del. Cline
(804) 698-1024
email: Del_Cline@house.state.va.us

Del. Johnson
(804) 698-1004
email: Del_Johnson@house.state.va.us

Del. Melvin
(804) 698-1080
email: Del_Melvin@house.state.va.us

Del. Van Yahres
(804) 698-1057
email: Del_VanYahres@house.state.va.us

Del. Hull
(804) 698-1038
email: Del_Hull@house.state.va.us

Del. Watts
(804) 698-1039
email: Del_Watts@house.state.va.us

Del. Hall
(804) 698-1069
email: Del_Hall@house.state.va.us

Del. Shannon
(804) 698-1035
email: Del_Shannon@house.state.va.us

Del. Lewis
(804) 698-1000
email: Del_Lewis@house.state.va.us

You do not need to identify yourself as a homeschooler, but only as a
parent.

Thank you for your calls.

Sincerely,


Christopher Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel



----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> Who are the nation's best lobbyists?

We don't know that this has ever been determined; but we do know
that HSLDA's National Center for Home Education is the only
national organization lobbying on behalf of homeschoolers on
Capitol Hill.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1102

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

{{Email}}

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================