From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/2/2005 11:10:00 AM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Virginia--Calls Needed Today to Support $1200 Tax Credit for Homeschooling

======================================================================
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
======================================================================


February 2, 2005


Virginia--Calls Needed Today to Support $1200 Tax Credit for
Homeschooling


Dear HSLDA Members and Friends,

How would you like to subtract $1200 from your Virginia state income
taxes? Now is your opportunity to support House Bill 1942 (formerly HB
2914), introduced by Delegate Chris Saxman.

This simple and straightforward legislation would allow any homeschool
teacher to receive a $1200 tax credit for homeschool educational
expenses, if filing jointly.

HB 1942 was passed by the House Finance Subcommittee on Monday night
with a vote of 6 to 4, despite opposition from the Virginia
Parent-Teachers Association, the Virginia Education Association, and
People for the American Way. During the hearing Delegate Saxman
presented an additional tax credit bill to also cover low-income
families. The committee voted to combine the two bills into HB 1942.

Calls are needed TODAY by approximately 2:00 PM, when HB 1942 will be
heard by the full Finance Committee!


REQUESTED ACTION

Please call the members of the full Finance Committee and give them
this message:

"Please support HB 1942 and vote to pass it out of committee today.
This bill will benefit parents and children and promote education in
our commonwealth. Parents deserve a tax break for educational
expenses."

The six delegates who voted in favor of the tax credit were Delegates
Parrish, Lee Ware, Lingamfelter, Cole, Hugo, and Janis. These
delegates do not need to be called.

The hearing is scheduled for 2 p.m. in the General Assembly Building,
9th and E. Broad Sts., House Room D (on first floor).


House Finance Committee Members:

Del. Purkey
(804) 698-1082
email: Del_Purkey@house.state.va.us

Del. Orrock
(804) 698-1054
email: Del_Orrock@house.state.va.us

Del. Louderback
(804) 698-1015
email: Del_Louderback@house.state.va.us

Del. Welch
(804) 698-1021
email: Del_Welch@house.state.va.us

Del. Nixon
(804) 698-1027
email: Del_Nixon@house.state.va.us

Del. Byron
(804) 698-1022
email: Del_Byron@house.state.va.us

Del. O'Bannon
(804) 698-1073
email: Del_OBannon@house.state.va.us

Del. Cline
(804) 698-1024
email: Del_Cline@house.state.va.us

Del. Johnson
(804) 698-1004
email: Del_Johnson@house.state.va.us

Del. Melvin
(804) 698-1080
email: Del_Melvin@house.state.va.us

Del. Van Yahres
(804) 698-1057
email: Del_VanYahres@house.state.va.us

Del. Hull
(804) 698-1038
email: Del_Hull@house.state.va.us

Del. Watts
(804) 698-1039
email: Del_Watts@house.state.va.us

Del. Hall
(804) 698-1069
email: Del_Hall@house.state.va.us

Del. Shannon
(804) 698-1035
email: Del_Shannon@house.state.va.us

Del. Lewis
(804) 698-1000

Thanks for your calls!

Sincerely,


Chris Klicka
HSLDA Senior Counsel



----------------------------------------------------------------------
-> How many news articles did you read this morning over your
oatmeal?

We live in a world where concise information presented at the
right time can make a big difference in the outcome of important
legislative efforts. Yet it's tough to keep up with all the
issues that affect you. HSLDA does this for you in the areas that
affect your homeschool. Our emails and website enable you to
take quick, decisive action. Please consider becoming a part of
this team.

More reasons to join HSLDA...
http://www.hslda.org/elink.asp?id=1923

----------------------------------------------------------------------
======================================================================
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
Email: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an email with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

{{Email}}

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an email from
the email address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your email address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid email address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this email address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any email sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send email to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
email staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
======================================================================