From the HSLDA E-lert Service:
< BACK TO ARCHIVE

Date:
From:
Subject:

2/28/2003 4:26:24 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Utah-Senate Kills Truancy Bill

----------------------------------------------------------------------
From the HSLDA E-lert Service...
----------------------------------------------------------------------

February 28, 2003

Dear HSLDA Member and Friends,

Thank you for your hard work and active citizenship! Due to efforts
of homeschoolers across Utah, on February 27 the Senate killed House
Bill 76, which originally made it a crime to refuse to "cooperate"
with school officials investigating truancy. Special thanks to
homeschool leader Frank Mylar, who kept the heat on the Senate until
the job was done!

ACTION REQUESTED

Please e-mail Bill Wright and the other Senators who voted to kill
this bill to thank them for their vote. A suggested message would be,
"Thank you for protecting homeschoolers from House Bill 76. Under
Utah's current homeschool law, too many innocent families are in
danger of truancy prosecutions."

Senators who voted to kill HB 76:

Gregory "S" Bell gbell@utahsenate.org
James Evans jevans@utahsenate.org
Beverly Evans bevevans@ubtanet.com
Peter C. Knudson pknudson@utahsenate.org
Bill Wright bwright@utahsenate.org
Leonard M. Blackham lblackham@utahsenate.org
Parley Hellewell parleyh@attbi.com
David H. Steele dsteele@utahsenate.org
L. Alma "Al" Mansell amansell@utahsenate.org
D. Chris Buttars dcbuttars@utahsenate.org
John W. (Bill) Hickman bhickman@utahsenate.org
Howard A. Stephenson hstephenson@utahsenate.org
Dan R. Eastman deastman@utahsenate.org
Lyle W. Hillyard lhillyard@utahsenate.org
Dave L. Thomas dthomas@co.summit.ut.us
Scott K. Jenkins sjenkins@utahsenate.org
Carlene M. Walker cwalker@utahsenate.org

BACKGROUND

For several years in a row, Senator Duane Bourdeaux has filed a bill
to make it a crime to refuse to "cooperate" with school authorities
who are investigating truancy. Unfortunately, many Utah homeschoolers
have never been "approved" by their local school district, and
therefore could be accused of "truancy." Until Utah's "approval" law
is changed, any additional penalties on truants will be a threat to
many homeschool families.

For more information on this legislation visit:
http://www.hslda.org/Legislation/State/ut/2003/uthb76/default.asp

Very truly yours,

Scott W. Somerville
HSLDA Staff Attorney

{{JoinAd}}
----------------------------------------------------------------------
The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733
E-mail: info@hslda.org
Web: http://www.hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp?Process=Subscribe

- Or send an e-mail with name and complete mailing address to:

subscribe@hslda.org

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:

{{Email}}

- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an e-mail from
the e-mail address you want to unsubscribe to:

unsubscribe@hslda.org

- To change your e-mail address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

https://secure.hslda.org/hslda/elert/account.asp

----------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid e-mail address or you
have other problems, please reply to webmaster@hslda.org.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this e-mail address;
hslda@hslda.org is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any e-mail sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send e-mail to
info@hslda.org or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
e-mail staff directly through the Members website at
http://members.hslda.org/contact.asp. Thank you for your cooperation.
----------------------------------------------------------------------