From the HSLDA E-lert Service:


2/11/2003 4:27:53 PM
Home School Legal Defense Association
Minnesota--Please Attend Hearing Scheduled on Homeschool Privacy Bill

From the HSLDA E-lert Service...

February 11, 2003

Dear HSLDA Members and Friends,

Senator David Knutson filed Senate File 99 to protect the privacy of
homeschool data. This bill will be heard Thursday, February 13, 2002
in the Senate Judiciary Subcommittee on Data Practices at 12:30 pm in
Room 112 at the Minnesota State Capital. If you live within driving
distance of the capital, we would encourage you to come and help
advance homeschool freedom this Thursday.


1. Email the members of the House Education Policy Committee and the
Senate Judiciary Committee (call if you are their constituent). Your
message should be short and polite, such as, "Please pass HF 168 and
SF 99 in order to protect homeschool and private school privacy."

House Education Policy Committee:

Chair: Barb Sykora (651) 296-4315
Vice Chair: Mark Olson (651) 296-4237
Lyndon Carlson (651) 296-4255
Jeff Anderson (651) 296-4193
Dick Borrell (651) 296-4336
Mark Buesgens (651) 296-5185
Randy Demmer (651) 296-9236
Rob Eastlund (651) 296-5364
Sondra Erickson (651) 296-6746
Bud Heidgerken (651) 296-4317
Jeff Johnson (651) 296-5511
Tony Kielkucki (651) 296-1534
Karen Klinzing (651) 296-1147
Doug Meslow (651) 296-5363
Carla Nelson (651) 296-0573
Stephanie Olsen (651) 296-4280
Alice Seagren (651) 296-7803
Marty Seifert (651) 296-5374
Dean Urdahl (651) 296-4344
Lynn Wardlow (651) 296-4128
Connie Bernardy (651) 296-5510
Len Biernat (651) 296-4219
Jim Davnie (651) 296-0173
Kent Eken (651) 296-9918
Mindy Greiling (651) 296-5387
Mike Jaros (651) 296-4246
Ron Latz (651) 296-7026
Carlos Mariani (651) 296-9714
Gene Pelowski (651) 296-8637
Nora Slawik (651) 296-7807

Senate Judiciary Committee:

Chair: Don Betzold (651) 296-2556
Vice Chair: Wesley J. Skoglund (651) 296-4274
Richard J. Cohen (651) 296-5931
David Hann (651) 296-1749
John C. Hottinger (651) 296-6153
John Marty (651) 296-5645
Thomas M. Neuville (651) 296-1279
Julianne E. Ortman (651) 296-4837
Ann H. Rest (651) 296-2889

2. If possible, attend the hearing at the capital. To find out how to
visit the capital go to:


A companion bill to House File 168, Senate File 99 would solve
Minnesota's data privacy problem by specifically stating that "data
collected by a public school on a child that must be reported
pursuant to Section 120A.24 is private data." "Private data" should
be contrasted with "directory information" or "public data," which
under Minnesota's Sunshine Law must be released upon request.

For more information about Senate File 99, visit our website at:

Very truly yours,

Scott W. Somerville
HSLDA Staff Attorney

The HSLDA E-lert Service is a service of:

Home School Legal Defense Association
P.O. Box 3000
Purcellville, Virginia 20134
Phone: (540) 338-5600
Fax: (540) 338-2733

How To Subscribe:

- Subscribe to the HSLDA E-lert Service at our website:

- Or send an e-mail with name and complete mailing address to:

Subscription Information:

- You subscribed to the HSLDA E-lert Service as:


- To unsubscribe from the HSLDA E-lert Service send an e-mail from
the e-mail address you want to unsubscribe to:

- To change your e-mail address or make other changes to your
subscription, visit the HSLDA E-lert Service account web page at:

POSTMASTERS: This message is being sent to the most recent address we
have for our subscribers. If this is an invalid e-mail address or you
have other problems, please reply to
DISCLAIMER: This is considered a private and confidential message
from HSLDA to its bonafide HSLDA E-lert Service subscribers.
HSLDA cannot attest to the authenticity of copies posted, forwarded,
or sent by any party other than HSLDA.
NOTE: Please do not reply or otherwise use this e-mail address; is for broadcast purposes only and is not intended to
receive incoming messages. We cannot reply to any e-mail sent to this
address. If you have comments or questions, please send e-mail to or call HSLDA at 540-338-5600. HSLDA members can also
e-mail staff directly through the Members website at Thank you for your cooperation.