Home School Court Report
Current Issue | Archives | Advertising | About | Search
Vol. XXV
No. 5

In This Issue

Legal / Legislative Updates Previous Page Next Page
- disclaimer -
Across the States
AK · AL · CA · CT· HI · MA · MI · MN · NY · OH · OR · PA · SC · SD · TN · TX · VT


Change in Approved List of Standardized Tests

Pennsylvania’s law governing home education programs requires standardized testing in grades 3, 5, and 8. Students have the option of participating in the tests administered to public school students in these grade levels or taking one of the nationally normed standardized achievement tests in reading/language arts and mathematics approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. As of July 1, 2009, the department of education revised the list of approved tests as follows:

  • California Achievement Test
  • Comprehensive Testing Program (CTPIV)
  • Iowa Test of Basic Skills
  • Metropolitan Achievement Test
  • Peabody Achievement Individual Test-Revised Version
  • Stanford Achievement Test
  • Terra Nova
  • Woodcock Johnson Revised Tests of Achievement III

— by Dewitt T. Black