Home School Court Report
Current Issue | Archives | Advertising | About | Search
VOLUME XVI, NUMBER 3
- disclaimer -
MAY / JUNE 2000
Cover
Previous Issue  C  O  N  T  E  N  T  S  Next Issue


Cover Story
A Tribute to Home School Moms

Special Features

Changing of the Guard

Legal Contacts for March/April 2000

National Center Reports

CAP Training and Lobby Day

Elementary and Secondary Education Act

Marriage Tax Penalty Relief

Across the States

State by State

Regular Features

Press Clippings

Prayer and Praise

Active Cases

President’s Page

H  O  M  E     S  C  H  O  O  L  I  N  G     N  E  W  S     F  R  O  M
Across the States
AK · AL · AR · AZ · CA · CT · FL · IA · ID · IL · IN · KS · KY · LA · MA · MI · MN · ND · NJ · NM · NY · OH · PA · RI · TN · TX · VA · WA · WV
Arizona

A Great Place to Home School

In the 17 years of Home School Legal Defense Association’s existence, great strides have been made in guaranteeing the right of parents to home educate their children in every state. Yet, rarely does state law actually become less and less restrictive to the extent it has in Arizona. The last few years have seen the elimination of annual notification, teacher testing/qualifications, and student testing.

If you are new to the Grand Canyon State, you may not be aware of what a great place Arizona is for home schooling. Or how home schoolers who came before you, spearheaded by Arizona Families for Home Education, fought to secure the freedom now enjoyed by every home schooler in the state. It’s important to remember that the key to maintaining this freedom is eternal vigilance.

The vigilant know that, after the legislature, the next greatest threat to freedom is a local public school district that deliberately or ignorantly steps over the bounds of law. Thankfully, most Arizona home schoolers experience little, if any, harassment from public school officials. But, since school districts occasionally are not familiar with the law, we will briefly recap what is required of home schoolers. Anything else exceeds the law.

Here is what state law requires:

  • A one-time notification of intent to home school. An “Affidavit of Intent” filed with the county superintendent of schools within 30 days of beginning a home school program.
  • The Affidavit of Intent shall include the child’s name, birthdate, address and the name, address, telephone of the parent/guardian or person having custody of the child.
  • Along with the affidavit, the parent or custodian must supply the superintendent with either a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate or other reliable proof of the child’s identity and age.
— J. Michael Smith