New Mexico
HOME | LAWS | ORGANIZATIONS | CASES | LEGISLATION | HEADLINES | COMMON CORE
New Mexico

March 21, 2003

House Bill 868: Income Tax Deduction For Homeschools and Private Schools

Sponsor:
Rep. Eric A. Youngberg (R), District 23

Summary:
House Bill 868 would allow parents of students enrolled in a homeschool or private school for more than six months during the school year to claim a $1,000 deduction from their net income.

Status:
HB 868 was introduced to the House on February 19, and immediately assigned to the following House committees: Education, Taxation and Revenue, and Appropriations and Finance. Since the Legislature adjourned on March 22, 2003 with no carryover, the bill is dead.

Action Requested:
None.

Taxation and Revenue Committee members:

Donald L. Whitaker, Chair, (505) 986-4420, House@state.nm.us
Roberto J. Gonzales, Vice Chair, (505) 986-4235, House@state.nm.us
Janice E. Arnold-Jones, (505) 986-4451, jjones4808@aol.com
William "Ed" Boykin, (505) 986-4227, House@state.nm.us
Anna M. Crook, (505) 986-4454, anna.crook@state.nm.us
George J. Hanosh, (505) 986-4243, House@state.nm.us
Irvin Harrison, (505) 986-4464, irv4u@cia-g.com
Manuel G. Herrera, (505) 986-4248, House@state.nm.us
Ben Lujan, (505) 986-4782, House@state.nm.us
Andy Nunez, (505) 986-4235, House@state.nm.us
Edward C. Sandoval, (505) 986-4840, edward.sandoval@state.nm.us
Daniel P. Silva, (505) 986-4425, House@state.nm.us
Joe M Stell, (505) 986-4423, House@state.nm.us
Thomas C. Taylor, (505) 986-4450, tom@tomtaylor.net
Don Tripp, (505) 986-4220, don.tripp@state.nm.us
Robert White, (505) 986-4214, printstop@qwest.net

Appropriations and Finance Committee members:
Max Coll, Chair, (505) 986-4320, max.coll@state.nm.us
Luciano "Lucky" Varela, Vice Chair, (505) 986-4435, House@state.nm.us
Henry Kiki Saavedra, Deputy Chair, (505) 986-4316, House@state.nm.us
Ray Begaye, (505) 986-4436, ray.begaye@state.nm.us
Donald E. Bratton, (505) 986-4451, House@state.nm.us
Mary Helen Garcia, (505) 986-4438, House@state.nm.us
John A. Heaton, (505) 986-4432, jheaton@caverns.com
Rhonda S. King, (505) 986-4234, House@state.nm.us
Larry A. Larranaga, (505) 986-4215, House@state.nm.us
Patricia A. Lundstrom, (505) 986-4435, House@state.nm.us
Terry T. Marquardt, (505) 986-4226, terry.marquardt@state.nm.us
Brian K. Moore, (505) 986-4467, House@state.nm.us
Rory J. Ogle, (505) 986-4450, ogleviz@quixnet.net
Pauline J. Ponce, (505) 986-4436, pjponce@nedcomm.nm.org
Nick L. Salazar, (505) 986-4433, House@state.nm.us
J. Paul Taylor, (505) 986-4438, House@state.nm.us
Sandra L. Townsend, (505) 986-4214, sandra.townsend@state.nm.us
Jeannette O. Wallace, (505) 986-4452, wallace@losalamos.com

HSLDA's Position:

Support. HSLDA supports any well-designed bill that will end "double taxation" for homeschoolers.

 Other Resources

Bill Text (PDF)

Bill History